Joe Satriani – Flying In A Blue Dream (1989/2014) [HDTracks 24bit/96Hz]

Joe Satriani – Flying In A Blue Dream (1989/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 64:56 minutes | 1,51 GB
Official Digital Download – Source: | Front cover

Flying in a Blue Dream is Joe Satriani’s third studio album and was originally released in October 1989. It was one of Satriani’s most popular albums, peaking at #23 on the US Billboard 200 chart and staying on the chart for 39 weeks. The album was certified Gold in January 1990 and was nominated for Best Rock Instrumental Performance at the 1991 Grammy Awards, Satriani’s third nomination. Four singles from the album charted on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart: “Big Bad Moon” (#31); “One Big Rush” (#36); “Back to Shalla-Bal” (#17); and “I Believe” (#17). Remastered by John Cuniberti, analog mixes are 15ips Dolby SR, transferred and mastered to digital at 96/24.

An hour-long disc filled with musical explorations and compositions that defy belief, Flying in a Blue Dream is unquestionably Joe Satriani at his absolute best. Breaking his all-instrumental tradition for the first time, he croons on six of the disc’s 18 tracks, including the weird “Strange”; and the bluesy, hard-rocking “Big Bad Moon”; and the driving “Can’t Slow Down.” Satriani’s voice isn’t extraordinary, but it fits extremely well with the music he creates, especially on the acoustic-tinged, uplifting “I Believe.” It’s his playing that’s the really impressive thing here, though; his unique tone and complex song structures are enhanced by his signature playing style and the incredible array of effects and tricks he wrestles out of his instrument. The disc closes with the high-flying, misty piece “Into the Light,” leaving behind a feeling of real wonder. Soaring, powerful, and triumphant, this recording deserves a place in everyone’s collection.

01 – Flying in a Blue Dream
02 – The Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing
03 – Can’t Slow Down
04 – Headless
05 – Strange
06 – I Believe
07 – One Big Rush
08 – Big Bad Moon
09 – The Feeling
10 – The Phone Call
11 – Day at the Beach (New Rays from an Ancient Sun)
12 – Back to Shalla-Bal
13 – Ride
14 – The Forgotten, Pt. 1
15 – The Forgotten, Pt. 2
16 – The Bells of Lal, Pt. 1
17 – The Bells of Lal, Pt. 2
18 – Into the Light



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.