Commodores – Commodores 13 (1983/2015) [Qobuz 24bit/192kHz]

Commodores – Commodores 13 (1983/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 00:37:28 minutes | 1,65 GB | Genre: Soul, Funk, R&B
Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © Motown Records
Recorded & Mastered at A&M Recording Studios, Hollywood, California. Mixed at Motown/Hitsville U.S.A. Recording Studios, Hollywood, California and Village Recorders, West Los Angeles, California.

For the Commodores, losing Lionel Richie in 1982 was a lot like L.T.D. losing Jeffrey Osborne and Rose Royce losing Gwen Dickey — it was a severe blow, although not a fatal one. In fact, the Commodores had a few major hits after Richie’s departure, including “Nightshift” (a number one R&B/number three pop smash) in 1984 and “Goin’ to the Bank” in 1986. Released in 1983, Commodores 13 was the band’s first post-Richie album as well as its first album without producer James Carmichael (who had been working with the Commodores since 1974). This LP came out around the same time as Richie’s second solo album, Can’t Slow Down, which sold over eight million copies in the U.S. alone. Commodores 13 didn’t do nearly that well, although it’s a generally decent, if uneven, record that had a number 20 R&B hit in “Only You.” The lead vocals are handled by Walter Orange, Thomas McClary, and the Mean Machine’s Harold Hudson, who was an interim vocalist rather than an official full-time vocalist. Not surprisingly, the Commodores cover both their R&B bases and their pop bases, getting into everything from sleek keyboard funk (“Touchdown,” “Nothing Like a Woman”) to adult contemporary ballads (“Only You”). Meanwhile, “Ooo Woman You,” which McClary co-wrote with Melissa Manchester, is a catchy pop/rock number. Is Commodores 13 a masterpiece? No. This release isn’t in a class with essential treasures like 1976’s Hot on the Tracks or 1977’s The Commodores. But it isn’t a bad album, and it indicated that there could be life after Lionel Richie for the Commodores. -Alex Henderson

1 I’m In Love 4:05
2 Turn Off The Lights 4:20
3 Nothing Like A Woman 4:56
4 Captured 4:35
5 Touchdown 4:30
6 Welcome Home 4:20
7 Ooo, Woman You 4:22
8 Only You 4:10

Michael Boddicker – Synthesizer
Bill Champlin – Composer, Keyboards, Piano, Vocals
David Cochrane – Bass (Electric), Saxophone, Synthesizer, Vocals, Vocoder
Paulinho Da Costa – Percussion
Eric Daniels – Piano
Michael Dunlap – Composer, Guitar (Electric)
Harold Hudson – Composer, Keyboards, Piano, Vocals
William King – Composer, Producer, Trumpet
Ronald LaPread – Bass (Electric)
Melissa Manchester – Composer, Vocals
Thomas McClary – Composer, Guitar (Electric), Producer, Vocals
Walter Orange – Composer, Drums, Producer, Vocals
Phyllis Saint James – Vocals
Steven Schaeffer – Drums
Deborah Thomas, Tandia White – Vocals
Milan Williams – Composer, Guitar (Electric), Keyboards
Vesta Williams – Vocals



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.