Zipflo Reinhardt – Light of the Future (1981/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Zipflo Reinhardt – Light of the Future (1981/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 36:52 minutes | 693 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © MPS

A relative of the legendary guitarist Django Reinhardt, violinist Zipflo Reinhardt assimilates the deep gypsy jazz tradition. Counting his main influences as Stéphane Grappelli and Jean-Luc Ponty he was also inspired by the music of John Coltrane and Herbie Hancock. Zipflo first appeared on MPS’s impressive Gypsy Violin Summit. In 1980 MPS invited him to record the present album. The two keyboards, guitar, electric bass, and drums are perfect compliments to Reinhardt, but make no mistake, this is Zipflo’s show. Composed and arranged by Zipflo, the music emanates a fusion feel with an unusual flare. Antares shines in a bright ¾ tempo, Do You Like Music has a rock ballad feel and Zipflo’s passionate solo. Uptown starts off in a rousing 6/8 before settling into a relaxed, luxurious 4/4 groove. Domestic Fly begins with a floating, suspended feel before taking off into Latin rock and a transfixing violin solo. Light of the Future commences with a bright two-beat feel, and never lets up, with Zipflo ripping off a virtuoso solo. Zipflo plays the deeper-pitched violectra on Mephisto Dance. The relaxed tempo and attractive solos show this demon to be quite personable. Andromeda takes off as a starry electronic voyage with a bit of acoustic guitar before it gets down into some inter-galactic funk. The album illuminates a lyrical violinist with his personal brand of jazz. A worthwhile addition to every jazz fusion collection.

1. Antares 05:09
2. Do You Like Music? 03:41
3. Uptown, Pt. 1 / Pt. 2 04:57
4. Domestic Fly, Pt. 1 / Pt. 2 05:16
5. Light of the Future 05:56
6. Mephisto Dance 05:54
7. Andromeda, Pt. 1 / Pt. 2 05:59

Zipflo Reinhardt, violin
Günter Möll, guitar
Hans-Peter Hepp, keyboards
Henry Darlowski, keyboards
Jochen Schmidt, bass
Werner Schmitt, drums