Youn Sun Nah – Voyage (2009/2014) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Youn Sun Nah – Voyage (2009/2014) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 55:08 minutes | 975 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © ACT Music and Vision

In our time and age, a jazz singer from Korea may still seem like an exotic concept. But anyone who knows how much effort Asian countries invest in education and promotion also knows about the growing circle of jazz fans in the region. So with notable exceptions it’s astounding that there aren’t more artists from Korea or Japan whose names are on everyone’s lips. However, Youn Sun Nah could change all that, and as the first Korean artist exclusively under contract with ACT, anyone listening to her debut album Voyage will understand why.

The exquisite quartet displays a distinctly Nordic element on Voyage and was also a great inspiration for Youn Sun Nah. She recalls: “With the band in Paris, somehow it was always about experimenting. We were all quite new to the business when we started working. With Ulf, Lars, Mathias and Xavier, however, I felt relaxed and secure from the first moment on. You don’t need to prove anything to them and that’s why you are even more daring.”

Voyage is a journey into the past and at the same time a promise for the future. It’s an impressive signature of one of the most exceptional singers of our time.

01 – Dancing With You
02 – The Linden
03 – Calypso Blues
04 – My Bye
05 – Jockey Full Of Bourbon
06 – Voyage
07 – Please, Don’t Be Sad
08 – Shenandoah
09 – Come, Come
10 – Frevo
11 – Inner Prayer
12 – India Song

Produced by Lars Danielsson. Recording, Mixing and Mastering Engineer: Lars Nilsson
Recorded June 2-4, 2008 at Nilento Studio in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Youn Sun Nah – vocals
Ulf Wakenius – guitar
Lars Danielsson – acoustic bass, cello, melodica
Xavier Desandre-Navarre – percussion
Mathias Eick – trumpet

Producer: Lars Danielsson
Recording, mixing and mastering engineer: Lars Nilsson