YORK – The Souljazz Experience Vol. 1 (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

YORK – The Souljazz Experience Vol. 1 (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 53:29 minutes | 630 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Upper Level Records

Throughout his career lasting several decades, German multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer YORK has been an in-demand sideman on saxophone and flute, live and in the studio for established heavyweights such as Randy Crawford, Phil Collins, Mousse T., Jazzkantine or Bahama Soul Club.

But time does not stand still, especially for creative minds! After all those years on the sidelines, new impulses made their way to the light, and a few sweaty as well as emotionally fulfilling months later, YORK is now launching his own longplayer: The Soul Jazz Experience Vol. 1.

On it, mastermind YORK enjoys his new creative freedom, as he functions equally as composer, arranger, producer – as well as performing musician, of course! YORK’s music is cool, danceable jazz with a touch of vintage soul and funk. He celebrates the swinging 60’s in a groovy way and transports the sounds of the vintage instruments he uses into the here and now. The album also features a number of top-class guest musicians, making The Soul Jazz Experience Vol. 1. a truly feel-good experience.

“I Can’t Get No Satisfaction” is a track that needs no introduction – or does it? It’s a jazzy-groovy version with latin inflections of the famed Rolling Stones tune. “The Days in Brazil” also breathes South American flair, and was inspired by memories of touring with Bahama Soul Club in Brazil. It is one of two tracks featuring renowned Portuguese jazz singer Guida de Palma, who also guests on the chilled out “E Nobi Do”, the perfect accompaniment to enjoying a delicious cocktail at the beach bar at sunset. In “Can You Feel The Heat” things go in a much jazzier direction, paying homage to the great pioneers of jazz – first and foremost Miles Davis, of course! And as a saxophonist, YORK also had to set a monument to his idols Charlie Parker and Paul Desmond – so the aptly-titled “CP & PD” pays homage to them.

01. YORK – I Can’t Get No Satisfaction
02. YORK – The Days in Brazil
03. YORK – Can You Feel the Heat
04. YORK – Cp & Pd
05. YORK – Flamingo Girl
06. YORK – E Nobi Do
07. YORK – Bsc Tribute
08. YORK – Too Much Tension
09. YORK – Walz with Me
10. YORK – With a Bit Kurkuma
11. YORK – Ysl & Bb
12. YORK – Moove & Groove