Yelena Eckemoff – Lions (2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Yelena Eckemoff – Lions (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 1:33:59 minutes | 1,79 GB | Genre:  Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Booklet, Front Cover | © L & H Production

For Yelena Eckemoff, finding the nexus where training and an early successful career in the classical sphere meet with the Moscow-born, North Carolina-resident pianist/composer’s more recent predilection for jazz and improvised music has been a wholly natural pursuit. A meeting place where the whole is invariably greater than the sum of its parts, with Lions – her eighth jazz album in nine years – Eckemoff once again raises the bar on a very personal approach to bringing detailed composition and freewheeling extemporization together with the idea of music as real narrative.

It’s hard not to be swept away by Eckemoff’s vision of African vistas and wildlife from a lioness’ viewpoint. Eckemoff’s music finds compelling middle ground between through composition and the loose interpretative interaction that any trio bolstered by Andersen and Hart is bound to possess. The three musicians traverse considerable territory, from ethereal atmospherics both sun-charred and moonlit indigo and more grounded explorations of groove, to cinematic expanses that evoke imagery reflective of Eckemoff’s experience – the soundtrack to the most personal of imaginary films. And whether it’s Eckemoff’s impeccable virtuosity and penchant for the impressionistic, Andersen’s lithe muscularity and irresistibly singing tone, or Hart’s ability to suggest time with the broadest use of color and texture, Lions is an album that continues to surprise long after it’s been spun for the first time.

01 – Lions
02 – Migrating Birds
03 – Pursuit
04 – Night In Savanna
05 – Stars Bathing In Shallow Waters
06 – Young At Play
07 – Sphinx
08 – Simple Pleasures
09 – Lions Blues
10 – Instinct
11 – Surviving The Famine
12 – Joining The Pride
13 – Ode To Innocence
14 – Ode To Strength

Produced by Yelena Eckemoff. Engineered by James A. Farber.
Recorded on March 16-18, 2013 at Sear Sound Studios, NYC.
Mixed and Mastered by by Rich Breen.

Yelena Eckemoff – piano
Arid Andersen – bass
Billy Hart – drums