Wilson Pickett – Live In Japan (1974/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96 kHz]

Wilson Pickett – Live In Japan (1974/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:25:14 minutes | 1,82 GB | Genre: R&B
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Legacy Recordings

Never before released in America, “Live In Japan” is the one and only full length document of the awesome power of Wilson Pickett live in concert. Recorded shortly after Pickett left Atlantic to sign with RCA in 1973, this extraordinary set (originally a double-LP) features a selection of Pickett’s 60s classics, new RCA favorites, and covers such as “Never My Love”, “Proud Mary”, and Free’s “Fire And Water”.

This is a two-LP reissue of a live 1973 performance, with pictures, lyrics and additional information in Japanese. Along with such classics as “Don’t Let the Green Grass Fool You,” “Midnight Hour,” “I Found a Love,” “Mustang Sally,” and “Land of 1,000 Dances,” there are also a few curiosities, such as “Sugar, Sugar,” “Never My Love,” and “Glory Hallelujah,” done in the inimitable Pickett style. The sound is very good, and the band is a solid soulful unit (not disco, thank God), making this a necessity for the soul collector. ~ Myles Boisen, Roots & Rhythm Newsletter


01 – T.S.O.P. (The Sound Of Philadelphia)
02 – Proud Mary
03 – People Make The World
04 – Sugar Sugar
05 – Don’t Let The Green Grass Fool You
06 – I’m In Love
07 – In The Midnight Hour
08 – Fire And Water
09 – I Found A Love
10 – Never My Love
11 – Glory Hallelujah
12 – Mustang Sally
13 – Land Of A 1000 Dances
14 – Soft Soul Boogie Woogie
15 – Mr. Magic Man
16 – Don’t Knock My Love
17 – Goodnight My Love

Recorded live in 1973 at Nakano Sun Plaza in Tokyo, Japan.