Wilson Phillips – Wilson Phillips (1990/2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Wilson Phillips – Wilson Phillips (1990/2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 45:42 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © SBK – EMI RECORDS

Sugary, commercial pop/rock isn’t necessarily a bad thing, and in fact can be fairly enjoyable in the right hands. But Wilson Phillips are much too sweet for their own good. This debut album – which amazingly went five-times platinum during the early 1990s – is about as lightweight and sophomoric as it gets. Chynna Phillips’ weak singing on such homogenized, mundane fluff as “Impulsive,” “The Dream Is Still Alive,” and the chart-topping “Hold On” isn’t even remotely convincing. Compared to Phillips’ saccharine performances on “You’re in Love” (another major hit) and “A Reason to Believe,” even Tiffany and Debbie Gibson’s debut albums have some bite.

1. Wilson Phillips – Hold On
2. Wilson Phillips – Release Me
3. Wilson Phillips – Impulsive
4. Wilson Phillips – Next To You (Someday I’ll Be)
5. Wilson Phillips – You’re In Love
6. Wilson Phillips – Over And Over
7. Wilson Phillips – A Reason To Believe
8. Wilson Phillips – Ooh You’re Gold
9. Wilson Phillips – Eyes Like Twins
10. Wilson Phillips – The Dream Is Still Alive