Wilma Thalen – Sophisticated Lady (2000/2015) [nativeDSDmusic DSF DSD64/2.82MHz + FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Wilma Thalen – Sophisticated Lady (2000/2015)
DSD64 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,8 MHz | Time – 56:22 minutes | 2,23 GB
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 56:22 minutes | 1,07 GB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Artwork: Digital booklet | Genre: Jazz

On ‘Sophisticated Lady’ Thalen plays jazz standards in their most vulnerable form, only accompanied by pianist Bert van den Brink and Hein van de Geyn on double bass. Her violin mainly sticks with the original melody and does not immediately flee towards the usual improvisation. In a frank and honest fashion Thalen wants to make these songs heard as they are. This seems cushy and in a first hearing, the music may sound quite accessable. But apart from the fact that nowadays it isn’t common to play mainly the melody, the plainnes of this approach appears to be fairly misleading. With this very instrument and without the veiling improvisation embellishment, Thalen pointblank reaches the soul and passion of these standards. Listening to her album therefore can be just rather pleasant, but with some concentration also very confronting and emotionally moving. Together with the pure and lifelike recording technique, it is this musical stratification that makes the album a typical Turtle Records production.


01 – Sophisticated Lady
02 – In the wee small hours of the morning
03 – My one and only love
04 – Peace
05 – Time remembered
06 – A nightingale sang in Berkeley square
07 – Infant eyes
08 – Spring can really hang you up the most
09 – Spring Fever
10 – Soul eyes
11 – Silence
12 – Blue in Green
13 – Sweet Loraine

Produced by Turtle Records. Engineered by Michel van Polen & Fir Suidema.

Wilma Thalen – violin
Bert van den Brink – piano
Hein Van de Geyn – acoustic bass

DSF DSD64/2.82MHz


FLAC 24bit/96kHz