Whitney Houston – One Wish: The Holiday Album (2003/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Whitney Houston – One Wish: The Holiday Album (2003/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 43:22 minutes | 503 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | Label: Arista

One Wish: The Holiday Album is the sixth studio album by American singer Whitney Houston, released in November 2003. The album is a Christmas album, and featured the single “One Wish (for Christmas)”, which reached the top twenty on Billboard‍ ’​s U.S. Adult Contemporary chart. The album spent six weeks on the Billboard 200 and as of January 2013 it had sold over 546,000 copies to date. The album also features a duet with Houston’s daughter Bobbi Kristina on “The Little Drummer Boy.” The album also re-uses “Joy to the World” and “Who Would Imagine a King” from 1996’s The Preacher’s Wife: Original Soundtrack Album.

Whitney Houston delivered One Wish: The Holiday Album, her first Christmas record, a year after her 2002 comeback, Just Whitney. If it seemed like that record played it safe, that’s nothing compared to One Wish, which is the straightest adult contemporary record Houston had released in years. Of course, holiday records are the last place anybody would want to take a risk, since they’re designed to be nice, pleasant mood music and, apart from a rather horrid version of “Little Drummer Boy” — which features her daughter Bobbie Kristina Brown on vocals, but that’s not what sinks it: it’s Whitney’s bewildering scat on “rump-pum-pum” that ruins the cut — this suits the bill nicely. The clean, pristine production, heavy on synths, sounds as if it was cut in the late ’80s, yet it’s also strangely spare, often being no more than a synth and a drum machine. Still, it’s a sound that’s well suited for Whitney and her thoroughly predictable set of material (the title track is the only new song, then the final two songs are recycled from the soundtrack of The Preacher’s Wife). Ultimately, One Wish is the kind of album that may only appeal to a fan of Whitney who has already yearned for her holiday album, but for those fans, it will be satisfactory. -AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

1 The First Nöel 3:14
2 The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire) 3:12
3 Little Drummer Boy (Featuring Bobbi Kristina Brown) 4:29
4 One Wish (For Christmas) 4:12
5 Cantique De Nöel (O Holy Night) 3:48
6 I’ll Be Home For Christmas 3:45
7 Deck The Halls / Silent Night 4:30
8 Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas 4:49
9 O Come O Come Emanuel 3:06
10 Who Would Imagine A King 3:30
11 Joy To The World 4:42

Whitney Houston – vocals
Barry Eastmond – conductor, keyboard
Bernard Davis – drums
Troy Taylor – bass, drums, keyboard, background vocals
Gerald Tarack – violin, concert master
Mervyn Warren – percussion, piano, conductor, keyboard, electric piano, vocals, background vocals
& more