Wes Montgomery – The NDR Hamburg Studio Recordings (Live) (2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Wes Montgomery – The NDR Hamburg Studio Recordings (Live) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 58:39 minutes | 693 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Jazzline

Wes Montgomery became a commercial success to the chagrin of jazz purists who equate that with “selling out.” Dan Morgenstern, in his review of Montgomery’s 1968 album Down Here on the Ground reprinted in Living with Jazz: A Reader, takes issue with the critics, lauding the guitarist’s individual musical personality. “You can’t manufacture that, but you sure can market it, and one of jazz’s most harmful myths is that if you do market it, and it sells, some mysterious essential change takes place: art is tainted by success.” Regardless of his success, Montgomery has remained a giant of modern guitar.

Born John Leslie Montgomery in 1925, Wes was raised in Indianapolis with two musical brothers, bassist Monk and pianist/vibist Buddy who later formed the nucleus of the Mastersounds. He came to the guitar late, at 19, and taught himself by listening to Charlie Christian recordings. He joined Lionel Hampton’s band in 1948 but returned to Indiana in 1950 to be with his wife and children. He played in local clubs where saxophonist Cannonball Adderley heard him and alerted producer Orrin Keepnews who signed him to a contract. Montgomery recorded his first Riverside album in 1959, and The Wes Montgomery Trio along with 1960’s The Incredible Guitar of Wes Montgomery put him at the top of the jazz polls.


1. Wes Montgomery – West Coast Blues (Live)
2. Wes Montgomery – Four on Six (Live)
3. Wes Montgomery – Last of the Wine (Live)
4. Wes Montgomery – Here’s That Rainy Day (Live)
5. Wes Montgomery – Opening 2 (Live)
6. Wes Montgomery – Blue Grass (Live)
7. Wes Montgomery – Blue Monk (Live)
8. Wes Montgomery – The Leopard Walks (Live)
9. Wes Montgomery – Twisted Blues (Live)
10. Wes Montgomery – West Coast Blues (Encore) (Live)