Weldon Irvine – Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine) (1974/2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Weldon Irvine – Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine) (1974/2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 40:25 minutes | 880 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © RCA – Legacy

Weldon Jonathan Irvine Jr., also known Master Wel, was an American composer, playwright, poet, pianist, organist, and keyboardist. He was involved with various musical genres including Jazz-Funk, jazz, hip hop, funk, rhythm and blues, and gospel. “Cosmic Vortex – Justice Divine” his first album for RCA Records, released in 1974.

After two visionary LPs for his own tiny Nodlew label, Weldon Irvine signed to RCA for Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine), exploring the deeply spiritual and political terrain of his previous efforts on the kind of grand musical scale that major-label funding accommodates. This is a big, bold record by any measure, with a startlingly pronounced focus on lyrics and vocals. At the same time, however, the melodies spread out like tentacles, informed by the improvisational sensibilities of jazz and the deep-groove spirit of funk. ~ Jason Ankeny

01 – Love Your Brother
02 – Walk That Walk, Talk That Talk
03 – Love Jones
04 – I’ll Name It Tomorrow
05 – Cosmic Vortex (Justice Divine)
06 – Quiet (In Memory of Duke Ellington)
07 – Let Yourself Be Free
08 – Love Your Brother (Sanctified Version)

Produced & Arranged by Weldon Irvine.
Recorded at RCA’s Studio “D” in New York City.