Weird Beard feat. Florian Egli – Orientation (2018) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Weird Beard feat. Florian Egli – Orientation (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 42:58 minutes | 741 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Intakt Records

The quartet Weird Beard was founded by Zurich based saxophonist Florian Egli. Following the debut album ‘Everything Moves’ on Intakt Records, they release a second studio album, recorded again in the Blackbox Studio in Brittany by the out­standing sound engineer David Odlum. ‘Orientation’ is a sophisticated record on which Weird Beard increasingly focus their attention on the creation of moods and atmospheres.

Christoph Wagner writes in the liner notes: “Weird Beard forge creative sparks out of opposites. The band use contrast as a means to create dramaturgy, veering back and forth from soft to loud, from fast to slow, and from forceful to lyrical. Sometimes the music acquires a lightness and transparency, but then becomes progressively more dense. In other places it can morph into a dreamy wallowing elegy, before opening outinto a tub-thumping inferno. Perhaps “post-jazz” is the word which comes first to mind to describe it.”

01. Hanako
02. Empty Shell
03. Orientation
04. Winter05:35
05. The Big Wasy
06. The Cat
07. No More Rain
08. Playground

Florian Egli, saxophone, clarinet
Dave Gisler, guitar
Martina Berther, bass
Rico Baumann, drums