Wayne Shorter – Super Nova (1969/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Wayne Shorter – Super Nova (1969/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 37:58 minutes | 1,34 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Blue Note Records

“Super Nova” is the twelfth album by Wayne Shorter, recorded in 1969 and released on the Blue Note label. The album features five originals by Shorter and an arrangement of “Dindi” by Antônio Carlos Jobim. “Water Babies”, “Capricorn” and “Sweet Pea” were originally recorded in a more traditional jazz setting in 1967 during the sessions with the Second Miles Davis Quintet that would be released in 1976 on the album “Water Babies”. Chick Corea appears on drums rather than his typical role as a keyboardist.

Super Nova is an important transitional album for tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter. Doubling on soprano (which he had recently begun playing), Shorter interprets five of his originals (including “Water Babies,” which had been recorded previously by Miles Davis) and Antonio Carlos Jobim’s “Dindi.” He definitely used a forward-looking group of sidemen, because his “backup band” includes guitarists John McLaughlin and Sonny Sharrock, Walter Booker (normally a bassist) on classical guitar for “Dindi,” bassist Miroslav Vitous, both Jack DeJohnette and Chick Corea (!) on drums, and percussionist Airto; Maria Booker takes a vocal on the touching version of “Dindi.” The influence of Miles Davis’ early fusion period is felt throughout the music, but there is nothing derivative about the often-surprising results. As with Wayne Shorter’s best albums, this set rewards repeated listenings.

01 – Super Nova
02 – Sweet Pea
03 – Dindi
04 – Water Babies
05 – Capricorn
06 – More Than Human

Produced by Alfred Lion.
Recorded on August 29 (“1,2,4,5”) and September 2 (“3 & 6”), 1969 at A&R Studios, NYC.

Wayne Shorter – soprano saxophone
John McLaughlin – acoustic and electric guitar on “1,2,4,5”
Sonny Sharrock – electric guitar
Miroslav Vitouš – bass
Chick Corea – drums, vibes
Jack DeJohnette – drums, kalimba
Airto Moreira – percussion
Walter Booker – acoustic guitar on “3”
Maria Booker – vocals on “3”
Niels Jakobsen – claves