Wayne Shorter – Night Dreamer (1964/2013) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Wayne Shorter – Night Dreamer (1964/2013)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 40:54 minutes | 1,71 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks.com | Front cover | © Blue Note Records

Night Dreamer is Wayne Shorter’s fourth album, recorded and released in 1964. The legendary tenor saxophonist is joined by a star-studded lineup: Lee Morgan on trumpet, pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Reggie Workman, and Elvin Jones on drums. This well-rounded Blue Note debut is comprised of all Shorter originals, and is a classic outing from an historic tenor player.

Tenor-saxophonist Wayne Shorter’s Blue Note debut found him well prepared to enter the big time. With an impressive quintet that includes trumpeter Lee Morgan, pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Reggie Workman and drummer Elvin Jones, Shorter performed a well-rounded program consisting of five of his originals, plus an adaptation of an “Oriental Folk Song.” Whether it be the brooding title cut, the Coltranish ballad “Virgo” or the jams on “Black Nile” and “Charcoal Blues,” this is a memorable set of high-quality and still fresh music.

01 – Night Dreamer
02 – Oriental Folk Song
03 – Virgo
04 – Black Nile
05 – Charcoal Blues
06 – Armageddon

Recorded April 29, 1964 in Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Produced by Alfred Lion
Originally released as Blue Note BLP 4173 (mono) and BST 84173 (stereo)

Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone)
Lee Morgan (trumpet)
McCoy Tyner (piano)
Reggie Workman (bass)
Elvin Jones (drums)