Waylon Jennings – Turn The Page (1985/2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Waylon Jennings – Turn The Page (1985/2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 32:57 minutes | 647 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © RCA Records Label Nashville

Jennings recorded the album at a time when he was completely drug-free; this had not occurred in his career for about twenty years. In April 1984, Jennings rented a house in Arizona for himself, his wife Jessi Colter, and young son Shooter, and quit cocaine cold turkey, although he did not intend to quit for good. Jennings was inspired to remain drug free mainly because of his son. In the audio version of his autobiography Waylon, Jennings recalled that quitting drugs had an immediate effect on his music: “I hit better notes now that I wasn’t plagued with laryngitis. I played on the beat instead of ahead of it. Probably only I noticed that instead of pushing myself, I was being pulled along by my own legend and the skills I’d learned from a lifetime performing.”

Turn the Page features a far more committed effort from Jennings than had been evident on some of his recent studio albums, with more care given to the production and vocal arrangements, as is evident on the opening track “The Devil’s on the Loose.” A sense of rejuvenation permeates much of the album, with Jennings celebrating his sobriety on “You Showed Me Somethin’ About Livin’” and “Don’t Bring It Around Anymore.” “Good Morning John” is a tribute song to Johnny Cash written by Kris Kristofferson. The cheating song “Broken Promise Land” was later a single for Mark Chesnutt from his 1991 album Too Cold at Home.


01. The Devil’s On The Loose
02. You Showed Me Somethin’ About Lovin’ (I Never Knew Was)
03. Good Morning John
04. The Broken Promise Land
05. Don’t Bring It Around Anymore
06. Rhiannon
07. Drinkin’ and Dreamin’
08. As Far As The Eye Can See
09. Turn The Page
10. Those Kind Of Memories