Waylon Jennings – Leavin’ Town (1966/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Waylon Jennings – Leavin’ Town (1966/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 28:32 minutes | 614 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front cover | © RCA Records
Recorded: RCA Victor Studios, Nashville

Leavin’ Town is Waylon Jennings’ second album for RCA Victor, released in 1966. It peaked at #3 on the Billboard country albums chart. Much like his debut album (also released in 1966), Leavin’ Town features a more tempered vocal approach from Jennings and the countrypolitan production that was typical at RCA at the time. In his 2013 book Outlaws: Waylon, Willie, Kris, and the Renegades of Nashville, author Michael Striessguth notes, “One of the early hit singles, ‘Anita, You’re Dreaming,’ co-written by Waylon and [Don] Bowman, found Waylon in a serious and cautious vocal mode that remembered Jim Reeves, only this time with a trace of Marty Robbins, whose famous Latin sound rose up on Waylon’s albums more than a few times in the 1960s.” In the authorized Jennings video biography Renegade Outlaw Legend, producer Chet Atkins recalled, “I was just trying to make a record that would sell that the disc jockeys would play. I never thought, ‘Let’s make a pop record’ or “Let’s make a folk record.’ I didn’t think too much in that direction.” The LP contains three songs composed by Jennings as well as contributions from Bobby Bare, Mel Tillis, Harlan Howard, and Gordon Lightfoot. The LP’s most successful single would be the Lightfoot composition “(That’s What You Get) For Lovin’ Me,” which rose to #9.

1 Leavin’ Town 02:07
2 Time to Bum Again 02:04
3 If You Really Want Me to I’ll Go 02:02
4 Baby, Don’t Be Looking in My Mind 02:54
5 But That’s Alright 02:06
6 Time Will Tell the Story 02:03
7 You’re Gonna Wonder About Me 02:27
8 (That’s What You Get) For Lovin’ Me 02:28
9 Anita, You’re Dreaming 02:28
10 Doesn’t Anybody Know My Name 02:57
11 Falling for You 02:37
12 I Wonder Just Where I Went Wrong 02:19

Backing Vocals – The Anita Kerr Singers
Bass – Henry Strzelecki, Norbert Putnam, Paul Foster
Drums – Jerry Carrigan, Kenny Buttrey
Guitar – Charlie McCoy, Fred Carter, Jr., James Wilkerson, James Wilkerson, Jerry Gropp, Jerry Reed, Ray Edenton, Velma Smith
Harmonica – Charlie McCoy
Piano – Floyd Cramer, Hargus Robbins
Vocals – Waylon Jennings