Various Artists – Soul Jazz Records presents Cold Wave #2 (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Various Artists – Soul Jazz Records presents Cold Wave #2 (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 51:02 minutes | 389 MB | Genre: Electronic, Coldwave
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Soul Jazz Records

Descendants of the original cold wave, such as Lena Willikens, Tolouse Low Trax, Job Sifre and many more tend to the sound’s branches in the modern day with stacks of grubby x scuzzy killers.

One of those rarer sets where Soul Jazz source from the recent, not distant, past, the featured artists all wear their influences clearly, offering a more streamlined answer to the late ‘70s / early ‘80s movement forged by the likes of Suicide, Patrick Cowley, The Normal, Martin Hannett, Laurie Anderson, or Public Image which has endured to inform the contemporary underground.

Where the original wavers used the machines at their disposal, all artists here make a conscious aesthetic decision to limit themselves to what is now lo-fi and ostensibly obsolete gear, location parks of invention and anachronistic energy between the hard nosed toil of Lena Willikens’ ‘Howling Lupus,’ the and tunnel drag force of ‘At Least We Try’ by Job Sifre, the humid tropical trek of Tolouse Lowe Trax’s ‘Rushing Into Water,’ Cosey-esque sleaze in ‘Hiding’ by Beta Evars, the slathering 16th note arp fangs of ‘Vacant Cars’ from Broken English Club, and a searing ‘Deserver Dub’ by Krikor Kouchian.

1. Lena Willikens – Howlin Lupus (05:12)
2. Beta Evers – Hiding (04:41)
3. L.F.T. – Stay Away From The Light (03:36)
4. Job Sifre – At Least We Try (09:17)
5. De Ambassade – Niet Van Mij (04:01)
6. Toulouse Low Trax – Rushing Into Water (09:02)
7. V.C.V.S. – Hum (03:53)
8. Dave I.D. – Help Starts (03:45)
9. Broken English Club – Vacant Cars (03:35)
10. Krikor Kouchian – Deserver Dub (04:00)