Various Artists – I’ll Be Your Mirror- A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Various Artists – I’ll Be Your Mirror- A Tribute to The Velvet Underground & Nico (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 59:20 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Alternative Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Verve

It’s easy to take the Velvet Underground for granted. Nearly four decades have passed since Brian Eno guesstimated that “Everyone who bought one of those [first] 30,000 copies [of the Velvets’ debut album, The Velvet Underground & Nico] started a band,” and that maxim has been repeated so many times since that it has become clich’e.

Artists have long pilfered the Velvets’ piercing art-house jams, heroin chic, and Notes From the Underground missives disguised as lyrics – largely without credit. But even without recognition, their influence resounds in the outsider-turned-pied-piper ethos of David Bowie, the abject caterwauls of the Stooges, the blue-jeans-and-sunglasses couture of the Ramones, the quietly poetic vulnerability of R.E.M., the monolithic guitar assaults of Metallica, the atonal noise experiments of Sonic Youth, the unapologetic New Yorkiness of the Strokes, and on and on and on. Since The Velvet Underground & Nico’s release, the group’s disciples have brought the mainstream closer to them.

1. Michael Stipe – Sunday Morning
2. Matt Berninger – I’m Waiting For The Man
3. Sharon Van Etten – Femme Fatale
4. Andrew Bird;Lucius – Venus In Furs
5. Kurt Vile – Run Run Run
6. St. Vincent;Thomas Bartlett – All Tomorrow’s Parties
7. Thurston Moore;Bobby Gillespie – Heroin
8. King Princess – There She Goes Again
9. Courtney Barnett – I’ll Be Your Mirror
10. Fontaines D.C. – The Black Angel’s Death Song
11. Iggy Pop;Matt Sweeney – European Son
12. Kurt Vile – Run Run Run – Radio Edit