Various Artists – Grease (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (1978/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Various Artists – Grease (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (1978/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 1:03:29 minutes | 2,51 GB | Genre: Soundtrack
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © Polydor Records

In 1978 the Grease soundtrack became a phenomenon. Its good-natured combination of doo wop and early rock & roll is infectious and charming, due in no small part to John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John’s charismatic, engaging performances. They sing the majority of the tracks including “Summer Nights,” “Hopelessly Devoted To You,” “You’re the One That I Want,” “Greased Lightnin’” and more.

Grease was a huge success as a Broadway musical prior to hitting the big screen in 1978. That was the version that transformed Grease into a phenomenon – it was a runaway box office success, and then became a TV, cable, and video favorite. The soundtrack rivaled its film counterpart as a pop culture perennial, and it’s not hard to see why – its good-natured pastiche of doo wop and early rock & roll is infectious and charming, due in no small part to John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John’s charismatic, engaging performances. They sing the majority of the originals – “Summer Nights,” “Hopelessly Devoted to You,” “You’re the One That I Want,” “Sandy,” “Greased Lightnin’” – which were the reason why the film and soundtrack became blockbusters. The fact that the originals hold up better than the ’50s tunes is largely due to Sha Na Na’s workmanlike performances, but the originals are so giddily enjoyable – not only the quintet mentioned above, but also Frankie Avalon’s “Beauty School Dropout,” Stockard Channing’s “Look at Me, I’m Sandra Dee,” and Frankie Valli’s title track – that everything works. Some listeners may prefer the Broadway cast recording, but the fact of the matter is, the sleek pop production the movie’s soundtrack boasts and the cast’s enthusiastic performances go a long way in making this Grease the definitive Grease.  ~~ AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


01. Frankie Valli – Grease (03:22)
02. Olivia Newton-John – Summer Nights (03:35)
03. Olivia Newton-John – Hopelessly Devoted To You (03:03)
04. Olivia Newton-John – You’re The One That I Want (02:48)
05. John Travolta – Sandy (02:32)
06. Frankie Avalon – Beauty School Dropout (03:58)
07. Stockard Channing – Look At Me I’m Sandra Dee (01:39)
08. Jeff Conaway – Greased Lightnin’ (03:13)
09. Cindy Bullens – It’s Raining On Prom Night (02:51)
10. James Getzoff – Alone At A Drive In Movie (02:24)
11. Sha-Na-Na – Blue Moon (02:21)
12. Sha-Na-Na – Rock N’ Roll Is Here To Stay (02:01)
13. Sha-Na-Na – Those Magic Changes (02:17)
14. Sha-Na-Na – Hound Dog (01:23)
15. Sha-Na-Na – Born To Hand Jive (04:38)
16. Sha-Na-Na – Tears On My Pillow (02:02)
17. Louis St. Louis – Mooning (02:14)
18. Cindy Bullens – Freddy My Love (02:47)
19. Louis St. Louis – Rock N’ Roll Party Queen (02:10)
20. Stockard Channing – There Are Worse Things I Could Do (02:21)
21. Olivia Newton-John – Look At Me I’m Sandra Dee (Reprise) (01:29)
22. Olivia Newton-John – We Go Together (02:59)
23. James Getzoff – Love Is A Many Splendored Thing (01:23)
24. Frankie Valli – Grease (Reprise) (03:24)

Drums: Olle Brown, Carlos Vega, Cubby O’Brien, Ron Ziegler
Bass: Mike Porcaro, David Hungate, Max Bennett, David Allen Ryan, Wm. J. Bodine, Dean Cortez, Harold Cowart
Guitar: John Farrar, Tim May (“Born to Hand Jive”), Jay Graydon, Lee Ritenour, Dan Sawyer, Bob Rose, Dennis Budimir, Thomas Tedesco, Cliff Morris, Joey Murcia, Peter Frampton (“Grease”)
Keyboards: Louis St. Louis, Greg Mathieson, Mike Land, Lincoln Majorca, Thomas Garvin, Ben Lanzarone, George Bitzer
Saxophone: Ray Pizzi (“We Go Together” & “Greased Lightnin’”), Ernie Watts (“There Are Worse Things I Could Do” and “Alone At A Drive-In Movie”), Jerome Richardson, John Kelson, Jr.
Trumpet: Albert Aarons, Robert Bryant
Trombone: Lloyd Ulyate
Percussion: Eddie “Bongo” Brown, Larry Bunker, Victor Feldman, Antoine Dearborn
Harp: Dorothy Remsen, Gayle Levant
Concertmaster: James Getzoff
Contractor: Carl Fortina
Copyist: Bob Borenstein

All selections except “Grease” arranged by: John Farrar, Michael Gibson, Louis St. Louis
Strings on “Summer Nights” arranged by Ben Lanzarone
Horns and Strings on “Greased Lightnin’” and “Born to Hand Jive” arranged by Michael Melvoin
Karl Richardson – engineer (“Grease”)
Recorded at: Filmways/Wally Heider Recording Studios, Hollywood
United Western Studios, Hollywood
Hollywood Sound Recorders, Hollywood
Engineered by: David J. Holman, Jay Lewis, EirBilly Joel Wangberg, Michael Carneval, Karl Richardson (“Grease”)
All selections mixed and re-mixed by David J. Holman at Filmways/Wally Heider Recording Studios, Hollywood [Except “Grease”]Produced by: Louis St. Louis and John Farrar; Barry Gibb, Albhy Galuten and Karl Richardson (“Grease”)
Album mastered at A&M Records by Bernie Grundman
Art direction: Glenn Ross
Album design: Tim Bryant/George Corsillo
Photography: Alan Pappe/Lee Gross Assoc., Inc.
Background photos: Ron Slenzak