Valery Gergiev – Prokofiev: Symphonies 4, 6 & 7 & Piano Concertos 4 & 5 (2016) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Valery Gergiev – Prokofiev: Symphonies 4, 6 & 7 & Piano Concertos 4 & 5 (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:38:05 minutes | 1,51 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Mariinsky

This major release launches the Mariinsky label’s projects to honour the 125th anniversary of Prokofiev’s birth. A long-time champion of the music of Prokofiev, Valery Gergiev conducts Symphonies Nos 4, 6 & 7, coupled with Piano Concertos Nos 4 and 5. The result is a 2-SACD set programmed to showcase some of Prokofiev’s finest works written before and after the Second World War.

Prokofiev began his 4th Symphony in 1929, drawing from the musical material of his ballet ‘The Prodigal Son’. The Symphony was premiered the following year, though he substantially revised the work 17 years later. Symphony No. 6 was written in 1947 as an elegy to the tragedies of World War II. Speaking of the Symphony, Prokofiev said, “Now we are rejoicing in our great victory, but each of us has wounds which cannot be healed. One man’s loved ones have perished, another has lost his health. This must not be forgotten.”

The 7th Symphony was completed in 1952, a year before the composer’s death. It was well-received and was awarded the prestigious Lenin Prize in 1957 at Miami’s Knight Concert Hall. Acclaimed for his highly sensitive touch and technical brilliance, Alexei Volodin performs Prokofiev Piano Concerto No 4. Premiered in Berlin in 1956, by the West Berlin RSO, it was written for the one-armed pianist Paul Wittgenstein, and was the only one of Prokofiev’s piano works that was not performed during his lifetime. Alexei Volodin’s performance was described as “superbly controlled and beautifully subtle” by The Guardian. The American-Armenian musician Sergei Babyan performs Prokofiev’s last complete piano concerto, No 5. The Telegraph reviewer was sufficiently moved to say: “Never have I seen so many fast and furious hand-crossings, so many dizzying flights from top to bottom of the keyboard, all performed flawlessly”.

Alexei Volodin (in the Fourth) and Sergei Babayan (in the Fifth) approach the fast movements with mercurial wit and dazzling clarity of fingerwork…Gergiev and the Mariinsky accompany with razor-sharp rhythmic precision and play the three post-war symphonies with conviction and commitment…I was particularly impressed by the clarity of texture and structural lucidity achieved


01. I. Vivace
02. II. Andante
03. III. Moderato
04. IV. Vivace
05. I. Allegro con brio
06. II. Moderato ben accentuato
07. III. Toccata. Allegro con fuoco
08. IV. Larghetto
09. V. Vivo
10. I. Andante – Allegro eroico
11. II. Andante tranquillo
12. III. Moderato, quasi allegretto
13. IV. Allegro risoluto
14. I. Allegro moderato
15. II. Largo
16. III. Vivace
17. I. Moderato
18. II. Allegretto
19. III. Andante espressivo
20. IV. Vivace

Prokofiev, Sergei Sergeievitch (1891-1953)

Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 53
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 5 in G major, Op. 55
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 4 in C major, Op. 112 (revised version)
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 6 in E flat minor, Op. 111
Prokofiev: Symphony No. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 131

Gergiev, Valéry

Groups & Artists
Mariinsky (Kirov) Orchestra