Valer Sabadus – Caro gemello – Farinelli and Metastasio (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Valer Sabadus – Caro gemello – Farinelli and Metastasio (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:11:41 minutes | 1,36 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Sony Classical

With “Caro Gemello” – their first joint album – countertenor Valer Sabadus and Concerto Köln celebrate the friendship between the castrato Farinelli and librettist Pietro Metastasio The castrato Farinelli and librettist Metastasio were two of the most outstanding musical figures of the 18th century. What few people know is that they shared a strong friendship all their lives. In the correspondence they carried on for many years, they always began each letter with “caro gemello” (“Dear twin brother”) – a sign of their close artistic relationship. This relationship is commemorated by the internationally celebrated countertenor Valer Sabadus and Early Music specialists Concerto Koln in their latest release, “Caro Gemello”. The award-winning musicians recorded technically brilliant as well as lyric operatic arias by Italian Baroque composers such as Nicola Conforto and Antonio Caldara and the German Johann Adolf Hasse. Among the works in which Farinelli performed so superbly and for which Metastasio supplied the libretto are vocal works by Farinelli’s teacher Nicola Porpora. One of the highlights from the operas by Porpora is an aria from the serenata Angelica e Medoro, which marked the beginning of the friendship between Farinelli and Metastasio. As an up-and-coming librettist, Metastasio was commissioned to provide the text for this work in 1720. The 15-year-old Farinelli celebrated his stage debut in the role of the shepherd Tirsi in this work. After this successful start, it was not long before the two became the greatest librettist and singer of their generation. Although Farinelli stopped singing on stage at the age of 32 in order to work for the Spanish court as a theater manager, a flourishing operatic scene evolved in Madrid, allowing Farinelli to collaborate closely with his friend Metastasio. Countertenor Valer Sabadus and Concerto Koln also call this Spanish period to mind with excerpts from two operas by Nicola Conforto: Ezio and La Nitetti, which were composed on the initiative of Farinelli. In 1782 a 15-year friendship finally came to an end. In that year Carlo Broschi alias Farinelli and Metastasio died shortly after each other. Just before his death, the librettist wrote in a letter: “Oh! How much more I would like to share! (…) I hug you, enchanting Carlucciello (little Carlo), and I, your ever identical twin, assure you of my brotherly tenderness.”

1. Ezio, Sinfonia: I. Allegro assai 01:44
2. Ezio, Sinfonia: II. Andantino e conun poco di moto 01:26
3. Ezio, Sinfonia: III. Allegro assai 40
4. Adriano in Siria: Amor, dover, rispetto 06:35
5. La morte d’Abel: Introduzione 03:42
6. Ruggiero: Di quello ch’io provo 05:49
7. La Nitteti: Se d’amor, se di contento 07:47
8. L’Angelica: Non giova il sospirar 03:34
9. Ecco quel fiero istante, “La partenza” 01:28
10. Polifemo, HelN 31: Senti il fato 09:03
11. La morte d’Abel: Quel buon pastor son io 09:25
12. La morte d’Abel: Questi al cor fin ora ignoti 06:16
13. L’Angelica: Il pie s’allontana 04:55
14. Polifemo, HelN 31: Alto Giove 09:17

Valer Sabadus, countertenor
Concerto Köln