Valentin Silvestrov – To Thee We Sing – Sacred Choral Works – Latvian Radio Choir, Sigvards Klava (2015) [HighResAudio FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Valentin Silvestrov – To Thee We Sing – Sacred Choral Works – Latvian Radio Choir, Sigvards Klava (2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 00:59:59 minutes | 968 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: | Front Cover | © Ondine Oy, Helsinki

Ukrainian composer Valentin Silvestrov (b. 1937) is an important contemporary voice in vocal music. In this new release Silvestrov’s hauntingly beautiful vocal works are performed by the Latvian Radio Choir under their director Sigvards Kļava.
During his artistic career Silvestrov has explored a number of musical styles and techniques, such as avant-guard, post-modernism, neo-classicism, dodecaphony, aleatoric writing and pointillism. The fall of the Soviet Union, however, allowed Silvestrov to eventually compose spiritual works, inspired and influenced by his love of the Russian Orthodox Church music.
Silvestrov imbues with his own unique sound and bursts of surprising harmonic moves. Silvestrov’s compositions are invested with the composer’s own unique personality, musical sensibility and sense of beauty.
Latvian Radio Choir’s previous releases on Ondine have been highly successful. For instance, the recording of Rachmaninov’s All-Night Vigil (ODE 1206-5) was chosen as the Record of the Month, Editor’s Choice and received a nomination in the Gramophone Awards in 2013.


Valentin Silvestrov (1937-)
Alleluia (2006)
1. I Evening  2:18
2. II Morning  2:41
3. III Night  3:30
From Liturgical Chants
4. Cherubic Song  2:34
5. Alleluia  2:47
6. O Holy God  3:21
7. Ave Maria  3:20
8. I The Lord’s Prayer  4:51
9. II Testament  8:58
Two Sacred Chants
10. Mercy of Peace  5:03
11. To Thee We Sing  3:14
Two Sacred Songs
12. I Alleluia  3:18
13. II Ave Maria  4:39
Two Christmas Lullabies
14. Sleep, Jesus  3:50
15. Quiet Night  5:27


Latvian Radio Choir
Sigvards Kļava, conductor
Ieva Ezeriete, soprano
Agate Burkina, soprano
Dace Srautmane, alto
Kārlis Rūtentāls, tenor
Rūdolfs Bērtiņš, tenor