Utopia Ensemble – The Musical Universe of Andreas Pevernage (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Utopia Ensemble – The Musical Universe of Andreas Pevernage (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:11:43 minutes | 1,35 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ram’ee

Andreas Pevernage (1542/3-1591) is best remembered today as the choirmaster of Antwerp Cathedral and as the composer of several picture motets that are now classified as masterpieces of Flemish culture. Whilst Pevernage spent his entire professional career in Flanders, which may well have contributed to his music being less well known today, he was nonetheless considered as the equal of Orlandus Lassus, Clemens non Papa and Giaches de Wert during his lifetime: the quality of his music is in no wise inferior to the works of his more famous contemporaries. Pevernage adopted the innovations of the Italian madrigal and also breathed new life into the chansons of the Low Countries. This selection of works, mostly for five parts, is an invitation to discover his stylistic and creative diversity.

1. Benedictio et claritas (04:10)
2. Laude pia Dominum (01:30)
3. Missa O Maria vernans rosa: Kyrie (05:02)
4. Misericorde au povre vicieux (02:31)
5. Las, me faut il (03:50)
6. Susanne un jour (03:13)
7. Pater noster (02:58)
8. Congratulamini mihi omnes (07:52)
9. Missa Vecy la danse de Barbarie: Agnus Dei (04:40)
10. Tousjours l’amant (02:04)
11. Deux que le trait d’Amour (06:32)
12. D’estre amoureux (02:04)
13. Ces deux yeux bruns (04:06)
14. Si dessus voz levres (02:54)
15. Osculetur me (01:18)
16. Tibi laus, tibi gloria (05:30)
17. La vita fugge (02:09)
18. Quando la voce (03:55)
19. Infinita belt`a (02:31)
20. Il dolce sonno (02:54)