University of Southern California Thornton School of Music Chamber Singers – Gregorian Meditations (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

University of Southern California Thornton School of Music Chamber Singers, Weicheng Zhao & Jo-Michael Scheibe – Gregorian Meditations (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:02:06 minutes | 540 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Centaur Records, Inc.

Alfred Desenclos and Jean Langlais were both superlative composers of choral music, yet most of their works are performed far too infrequently. This album offers superb performances of some of the best choral works by these great French masters. Initially called the ‘Madrigal Singers,’ the USC Thornton Chamber Singers were first formed in 1939 under the direction of Max T. Krone — a professor of music education, composition and choral music, as well as the dean of USC’s former Institute of the Arts. In 1942, Krone brought Dr. Charles C. Hirt, then the director of the Glendale High School choirs and a USC alumnus, to the school as both a lecturer and as Director of the Chamber Singers. Hirt later established and became chair of the Choral and Sacred Music department. In 1956, the Chamber Singers adopted its current name in a move designed to better reflect the group’s repertoire.


01. Desenclos: 2 Motets: No. 1, Salve Regina
02. Desenclos: 2 Motets: No. 2, Nos Autem
03. Desenclos: Messe de Requiem: I. Introit et Kyrie
04. Desenclos: Messe de Requiem: II. Offertoire
05. Desenclos: Messe de Requiem: III. Sanctus
06. Desenclos: Messe de Requiem: IV. Pie Jesu
07. Desenclos: Messe de Requiem: V. Agnus Dei et Communion
08. Desenclos: Messe de Requiem: VI. Libera me, Domine
09. Desenclos: Messe de Requiem: VII. In Paradisum
10. Langlais: Venite et Audite, Op. 104
11. Langlais: 9 Pièces, Op. 40: No. 3, Chant de paix
12. Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Op. 67: I. Kyrie
13. Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Op. 67: II. Gloria
14. Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Op. 67: III. Sanctus
15. Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Op. 67: IV. Benedictus
16. Langlais: Messe Solennelle, Op. 67: V. Agnus Dei