Trio Casals – A Grand Journey (2021) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Trio Casals – A Grand Journey (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Time – 01:04:01 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Navona

Inspired by traditional melodies and cultural flavors, A GRAND JOURNEY gives us contemporary chamber works by Richard E. Brown, Ovidiu Marinescu, and Mark G. Simon. Performed by internationally acclaimed Trio Casals, these distinct works immerse listeners in varying motifs drawn from diverse cultures, simulating a journey of melodic Korean folk patterns, Greek mythological icons, Irish fiddling, tango, and sensations garnered from the Black Sea and English countryside.

The composers draw upon a wealth of technical knowledge and established forms to bring their musical visions to life. Brown’s Trio No. 1 applies ideas from pentatonic Korean folk songs to strictly crafted chaconne, scherzo, and fugue forms, while Trio No. 2 follows a looser bookended construction with a pastoral sound. Marinescu’s piece, The Journey, refers both to cultural sources and the composer’s own inner journey as he blends classical form, clocklike repetition, tango rhythms, and fiddle tunes to express his ideas. Simon’s Caucasus Sonata is a hair-raising journey of the soul through rock and hard places, demanding virtuosity and stamina from the performer.

01. Marinescu: The Journey: There Are a Thousand Ways
02. Marinescu: The Journey: Chronos
03. Marinescu: The Journey: Mercury
04. Brown: Trio No. 1 – Koreana: I. Chaconne (Andante con moto; Meno mosso)
05. Brown: Trio No. 1 – Koreana: Ii. Scherzo (Allegro agitato)
06. Brown: Trio No. 1 – Koreana: Iii. Fugue (Vivace con spirito)
07. Brown: Trio No. 2 – Pastoral: I. Lento – Moderato
08. Brown: Trio No. 2 – Pastoral: Ii. Animato – Tranquillo – Tempo I
09. Brown: Trio No. 2 – Pastoral: Iii. Adagio – Lento
10. Simon: Caucasus Sonata: The Black Sea
11. Simon: Caucasus Sonata: Scherzo
12. Simon: Caucasus Sonata: Romance
13. Simon: Caucasus Sonata: Caucasian Journey