Trey Songz – Tremaine: The Album (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Trey Songz – Tremaine: The Album (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 58:23 minutes | 975 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Atlantic Records

“Tremaine” is the seventh studio album by American singer Trey Songz. The album was supported by the single: “Nobody Else But You”. The album debuted at number three on the US Billboard 200 moving 67,000 album-equivalent units with 45,000 in pure album sales. This is Trey Songz’ fifth top three debut on the chart.

“The hoes keep callin’” Trey Songz on the third album the R&B singer, songwriter, and swinger has titled after himself. On his seventh album, the successor to 2014’s Billboard 200-topping, platinum-certified Trigga, Songz serves up another hour-length program in which a stream of slinking, hyper-libidinous slow jams is interrupted by the occasional romantic ballad and uptempo club track. Stylistically, little differentiates it from the markedly superior Trigga, though longtime mentor Troy Taylor is deeply involved again as a co-writer and producer. There are a couple significant instances of Songz revealing some humility. In the Rico Love-produced “#1 Fan,” he cops to worrying about fulfilling the sexual expectations of a die-hard listener. Such is the hazard of being the guy who recorded “I Invented Sex.” “Picture Picture” likewise shows vulnerability, with Mr. Steal Your Girl expressing seething envy rather than humorous bluster. Still, the prevailing mode is stock ladykiller tales like “Playboy,” “She Lovin It,” and “Animal” (the latter is the better of two pop-oriented Cirkut/Dr. Luke collaborations), and it’s too bad that a vocalist of such considerable caliber has yet to outgrow a reliance upon them. There’s no disproving that Songz is still in his element, though, frequently enthused as ever about taking full advantage of what is at his disposal, even as he relates the multitude of ways in which his conflicted ego’s tripping out. It’s somewhat telling that the most ridiculous picture in the album’s booklet is not the one that shows him buried beneath a pile of swooning admirers, but the one that catches him alone, seated on an upscale ottoman, looking rather mystified, thinking…who knows what? Maybe “What is this feeling?,” or about the shoot’s end and the resumption of standard indulgences that have been on pause for a few mind-numbing moments. ~ Andy Kellman

01 – The Prelude
02 – Come Over
03 – #1Fan
04 – Nobody Else But You
05 – Playboy
06 – The Sheets…Still
07 – Song Goes Off
08 – She Lovin It
09 – Animal
10 – 1×1
11 – Priceless
12 – What Are We Here For
13 – Games We Play (feat. MIKExANGEL)
14 – Picture Perfect
15 – Break From Love