Tom Grennan – Evering Road (Deluxe) (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Tom Grennan – Evering Road (Deluxe) (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 52:13 minutes | 610 MB | Genre: Classic British Rock, Indie Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Insanity Records

‘Evering Road’ marks a bold and exciting new chapter for Tom Grennan, blasting back with a sophomore album shot through with raw emotion and searing honesty. Named after the East London address Tom shared with his then-girlfriend, it’s a hub of love, heartbreak and redemption. The album features the single ‘This Is The Place’, the soulful, introspective ‘Oh Please’ and ‘Amen’, a gospel-inspired awakening as Tom roars, ‘I don’t go to church, but Amen!’

After coming to prominence with his vocals on Chase & Status’ All Goes Wrong, which enjoyed heavy rotation on BBC Radio 1 and 2, Tom Grennan went on to meet high expectations with a debut album, Lighting Matches, which hit number five in the UK sales charts in 2018. This second work, Evering Road continues along the same lines, i.e. a rocky but powerful voice, enhanced by sophisticated orchestration that mixes pop and soul, with a sea of violins and piano backdrop, as It Hurts demonstrates perfectly. But it’s hard not to think of… Adele. Indeed, since the successes of Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black and Adele’s 21, there has been a flourishing of more or less talented followers. Logically, the two singers have become absolute and inescapable benchmarks for English popular music. And Grennan is of their school. He is lucky enough to possess a rather singular voice, lending a raw sensitivity to every word and every syllable. Emotion is filtered and communicated through this voice, which lends a certain physicality to each performance. And whatever it is, Grennan has got it: most of the time, at least. On this second album, Tom Grennan’s main subject is an emotional break-up. It is a classic and eternal theme that has stood the test of time, and can offer rich inspiration depending on the stature and talents of the artist. The title of the abum, Evering Road, is therefore the name of the street where Grennan and his ex-fiancée lived in mostly happier days. So it is these memories, more or less bitter, sometimes tinged with despair, that are on display throughout the album’s fourteen tracks. And, despite unoriginal titles – Oh Please, Second Time, You Matter to Me, Let’s Go Home Together – Tom Grennan manages to catch the ear, sometimes even rather more. – Yan Céh


1. Tom Grennan – If Only
2. Tom Grennan – Something Better
3. Tom Grennan – Little Bit of Love
4. Tom Grennan – Amen
5. Tom Grennan – It Hurts
6. Tom Grennan – Never be a Right Time
7. Tom Grennan – This is the Place
8. Tom Grennan – Sweeter Then
9. Tom Grennan – Make My Mind Up
10. Tom Grennan – Second Time
11. Tom Grennan – You Matter to Me
12. Tom Grennan – Oh Please
13. Tom Grennan – I Don’t Need a Reason
14. Tom Grennan – Love Has Different Ways to Say Goodbye
15. Ella Henderson – Lets Go Home Together
16. Tom Grennan – Long Live You and I