Theatre of the Ayre, Elizabeth Kenny – The Masque of Moments (2017) [LINN FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Masque of Moments – Theatre of the Ayre, Elizabeth Kenny (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:11:15 minutes | 1,32 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: LINN | Booklet, Front Cover | © LINN Records
Recorded: June 2015, St Martin’s Church, Salisbury, United Kingdom

Elizabeth Kenny’s Theatre of the Ayre reveals some of the most extraordinary music of the seventeenth century on The Masque of Moments, their debut recording for Linn.
Focusing on the ‘ayre’, the central part of a masque, it offers a fascinating glimpse of the audacious and experimental virtuosity that is often absent from our image of English music of this time.
Inspired by the achievements of the ‘Lutes and Voices’, Kenny developed The Masque of Moments in 2015, highlighting the glories of little-known vocal music from the Jacobean and Caroline masque.
The ‘lutes”plucked soundworld, of which this recording gives a hint, reflects a cornucopia of sounds used to create everything from a tavern scene to a reflection of paradise. The ‘voices’ come courtesy of Sophie Daneman, William Purefoy, Ian Wicks, Nicholas Mulroy, Giles Underwood, Rosanna Wicks and Salisbury Cathedral Choir.

1 Lord Zouche’s Maske[1’32]
2 The Earl of Essex Measure[1’50]

Thomas Campion (1567-1620)
3 Now hath Flora robbed her bowers[2’43]

John Coprario (c1570-1626)
4 While dancing rests[2’26]

Alfonso Ferrabosco (c1575-1628)
5 Why stays the bridegroom to invade[2’42]

Thomas Campion (1567-1620)
6 Move now with measured sound[3’40]

7 Tom of Bedlam[1’27]
8 Steer hither, steer your winged pines[1’58]

Robert Bateman (fl1609-d1618)
9 The Cadua[1’50]

Robert Johnson (c1583-1633)
10 From the famous peak of Derby[1’39]

11 The Bears’ Dance[0’20]
12 Tho’ it may seem rude[2’24]
13 The Second of the Temple Antic[1’33]
14 The Maypole[2’03]
15 Robin[3’05]

Charles Coleman (c1605-1664)
16 Did not you once, Lucinda, vow[3’18]

John Coprario (c1570-1626)
17 Coperario[1’25]Henry Lawes (1596-1662)
18 From the heav’ns now I fly[1’46]

William Lawes (1602-1645)
19 Part of the King’s Masque ‘Sinfony'[4’28]

Henry Lawes (1596-1662)
20 Sweet Echo, sweetest nymph that liv’st unseen[2’07]

William Lawes (1602-1645)
21 The Last Song or Valediction The angry steed, the fife and drum invite[4’28]
22 Of the Inns of Court Masque Hence, ye profane, far hence, away![9’30]
23 Cease, warring thoughts[2’59]
24 Sinfony[1’35]

Matthew Locke (c1621/3-1677)
25 Mercury and Nature in the Elysian Fields Where am I?[3’45]

Nicholas Lanier (1588-1666)
26 I was not wearier[1’52]Anonymous
27 Les Manches Vertes[2’50]

Theatre of the Ayre:
Elizabeth Kenny, lutes, theorbo, guitar
David Miller, lutes, theorbo
Jacob Heringman, lutes, cittern
Siobhán Armstrong, harp, Irish harp
Rodolfo Richter, Jean Patterson, violin
Emilia Benjamin, violin, viola, viols
Rachel Byrt, viola
Reiko Ichise, viols
Richard Tunnicliffe, bass violin
Joanna Levine, violone
Sophie Daneman, soprano
Rosanna Wicks, soprano
William Purefoy, countertenor
Nicholas Mulroy, tenor
Giles Underwood, baritone
Salisbury Cathedral Choir