The Temper Trap – Thick As Thieves {Deluxe Edition} (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Temper Trap – Thick As Thieves {Deluxe Edition} (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 57:10 minutes | 668 MB | Genre: Alternative
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Infectious

This third album from The Temper Trap comes four years after the Australian band’s last release which won two major ARIA Awards. With trademark choirboy vocals and a panoramic pop/rock sound, The Temper Trap first rose to local acclaim, while word of the group’s potential quickly spread to other continents. For the first time the band members collaborated with an outside songwriter on Thick As Thieves, British writer and producer Justin Parker, best known for his work with Lana Del Rey.

Australia’s Temper Trap deliver a sophisticated, uplifting set of songs on their third full-length album, 2016’s Thick as Thieves. Produced by Damian Taylor (Björk, the Killers, Braids), Thick as Thieves is the first album of new material from Temper Trap since parting ways with lead guitarist Lorenzo Sillitto in 2013. With Sillitto’s departure, keyboardist Joseph Greer began doing double duty on keys and guitars and, surprisingly, as evidenced here, very little has changed in the group’s sound. In fact, Thick as Thieves finds the band digging even deeper into a robust and anthemic guitar-based style that still owes a heavy debt to U2. It’s an apt, if somewhat overstated, comparison that will most likely furrow the brow of longtime Temper Trap fans, if not the bandmembers themselves. Thankfully, it’s not the main takeaway upon listening to Thick as Thieves. Primarily, one is reminded of how powerful and emotive a vocal presence lead singer/guitarist Dougy Mandagi remains. Cuts like the driving “Burn” and the minor-keyed groover “Alive” find Mandagi riding the crest of a thick wave of electric guitars, pulsing synths, and drums. It’s a scintillating combination that brings to mind something along the lines of Cee Lo Green fronting the Killers. It’s also nice to hear Temper Trap continue to expand their sonic palette, deftly weaving in bits of electronic programming and bass-heavy mixes, and taking a generally more measured approach to balladry, as they do on the soaring “Fall Together” and the punky, monochromatic album closer “Ordinary World.” Elsewhere, the band offers up a handful of kinetic, driving numbers like the ’80s power pop-influenced “Riverina” and the sweepingly romantic “Lost,” recalling the infectious joy of “Sweet Disposition.” Ultimately, Thick as Thieves plays like a heartfelt love letter to Temper Trap’s fans who have stuck with them since Conditions. As Mandagi sings on “Lost,” “Nothing in the world can tear us apart.” ~ Matt Collar

01 – Thick As Thieves
02 – So Much Sky
03 – Burn
04 – Lost
05 – Fall Together
06 – Alive
07 – Riverina
08 – Summer’s Almost Gone
09 – Tombstone
10 – What If I’m Wrong
11 – Ordinary World
12 – Providence [Bonus Track]13 – On The Run [Bonus Track]14 – Closer [Bonus Track]

Produced by Rich Cooper and Damian Taylor.

Dougy Mandagi – vocals, guitars
Joseph Greer – guitars, keys
Jonathon Aherne – bass
Toby Dundas – drums, percussion