The Super Trio – Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise (2018) [Japan] SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/96kHz

The Super Trio – Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise (2018) [Japan]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 64:38 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,6 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,48 GB

On this album, The Super Trio of Massimo Farao’, Ron Carter and Jimmy Cobb deliver a very special and strong set including “Autumn Leaves”, “Our Love Is Here To Stay”, “Oh What A Beautiful Morning” and “Once Upon A Time In America”.

There’s a great sense of warmth to this album from The Super Trio – one that really seems to come from the bass work of Ron Carter, which is so upfront and present in the recording, it’s got us remembering all over again why we love his music so much! Massimo Farao is on piano, and balances out Ron’s sound with a lighter, more lyrical touch – but one that swings nicely, too – thanks to the always-great drum contributions of Jimmy Cobb – still a master of the understated swing, even after decades of recording! Titles include the original “Marta”, plus “Salina”, “Autumn Leaves”, “Softly As In A Morning Sunrise”, “On A Clear day”, and Ennio Morricone’s “Once Upon A Time In America” – which sounds surprisingly nice as a jazz tune.


01. Softly, As In A Morning Sunrise
02. Cerasella
03. Marta
04. Autumn Leaves
05. Salina
06. Our Love Is Here To Stay
07. Oh What A Beautiful Morning
08. On A Clear Day
09. Once Upon A Time In America

Massimo Farao’ – piano
Ron Carter – bass
Jimmy Cobb – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Tom Tedesco.
Recorded on April 23 & 24, 2018 at Tedesco Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-302.



FLAC 24bit/96kHz