The Sixteen & Harry Christophers – The Deer’s Cry (2016) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Sixteen & Harry Christophers – The Deer’s Cry (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:06:48 minutes | 1,16 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Coro

Whilst coming from very different eras, William Byrd and Arvo Pärt are both considered masters of sacred music despite having faced considerable persecution for their work. This programme presents six of William Byrd’s works from the Cantiones Sacrae including the monumental Tribue, Domine, and the mighty eight-voice motet Ad Dominum cum tribularer. The three works by Arvo Pärt speak in his unmistakable voice, with its unique blend of ancient and modern, and include his mesmerising Nunc dimittis which is crafted in his bell-like ‘tinitinnabuli’ style.

01. Diliges Dominum
02. Christe qui lux es et dies
03. The Deer’s Cry
04. Emendemus in melius
05. The Woman with the Alabaster Box
06. Miserere mihi, Domine
07. Ad Dominum cum tribularer
08. Miserere nostri
09. When Jesus Went
10. O lux beata Trinitas
11. Nunc dimittis
12. Laetentur coeli
13. Tribue, Domine