The Sixteen & Harry Christophers – Palestrina, Vol. 7 (2017) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Sixteen & Harry Christophers – Palestrina, Vol. 7 (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:12:01 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Coro

The Sixteen continues its exploration of Palestrina’s great art with the eagerly anticipated seventh album in the series which includes the Missa Ave Regina caelorum

Palestrina is perhaps the most famous of all Renaissance composers, certainly by name. By his death his reputation outshone all others. His musical legacy is prodigious even by the standards of the time – he wrote over 100 Masses – and he was the first Renaissance composer to have a complete edition of almost his whole output published in modern notation. Today some pieces are quite familiar, others less so, and much of his superb music is almost unknown. The seventh recording in The Sixteen’s celebrated series focuses on some of the pivotal women in Christian history – Mary the mother of Jesus, Mary Magdalene, St Barbara and Susannah.


Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (c.1525-94)
01. Angelus Domini descendit
02. 45 Hymns: No. 16, Ave maris stella
03. In diebus illis
04. Beatae Mariae Magdalenae
05. Beata Barbara
06. Song of Songs: No. 19, Adjuro vos, filiæ Hierusalem
07. Song of Songs: No. 20, Caput ejus aurum optimum
08. Song of Songs: No. 21, Dilectus meus descendit in hortum meum
09. Susanna ab improbis
10. Veni sponsa Christi
11. Missa Ave regina cœlorum: I. Kyrie
12. Missa Ave regina cœlorum: II. Gloria
13. Missa Ave regina cœlorum: III. Credo
14. Missa Ave regina cœlorum: IV. Sanctus
15. Missa Ave regina cœlorum: V. Benedictus
16. Missa Ave regina cœlorum: VI. Agnus Dei I & II

The Sixteen, choir
Harry Christophers, conductor