The Rolling Stones – It’s Only Rock ‘N ‘Roll (1974) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011 # UIGY-9069] {SACD ISO + FLAC 24bit/88.2kHz}

The Rolling Stones – It’s Only Rock ‘N ‘Roll (1974) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011 # UIGY-9069]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 49:12 minutes | Scans included | 1,98 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,02 GB

Uses the 2011 DSD master based on UK original analog tape. Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). DSD Transferred by Mick McKenna & Richard Whittaker.

It’s uneven, but at times It’s Only Rock ‘n Roll catches fire. The songs and performances are stronger than those on Goats Head Soup; the tossed-off numbers sound effortless, not careless. Throughout, the Stones wear their title as the “World’s Greatest Rock & Roll Band” with a defiant smirk, which makes the bitter cynicism of “If You Can’t Rock Me” and the title track all the more striking, and the reggae experimentation of “Luxury,” the aching beauty of “Time Waits for No One,” and the agreeable filler of “Dance Little Sister” and “Short and Curlies” all the more enjoyable.

01. If You Can’t Rock Me
02. Ain’t Too Proud To Beg
03. It’s Only Rock ‘n Roll (But I Like It)
04. Till The Next Goodbye
05. Time Waits For No One
06. Luxury
07. Dance Little Sister
08. If You Really Want To Be My Friend
09. Short And Curlies
10. Fingerprint File

DSD transferred from analogue master tapes by Mick McKenna & Richard Whittaker at the FX Copyroom.



FLAC 24bit/88.2kHz