The Piano Guys – Wonders (2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Piano Guys – Wonders (2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 00:47:46 minutes | 482 MB | Genre: Classical, Avant-Garde
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | ©  Portrait Records/Sony Music

The Piano Guys’ new album, Wonders, features successful single releases from the past year such as “Let It Go” from the movie Frozen, “Kung Fu Piano: Cello Ascends,” “Don’t You Worry Child,” and “Story of my Life” available for the first time on CD. The album also includes new songs in their signature style from such artists as Dave Matthews, Phillip Phillips and One Direction, a fun take on various Batman themes throughout the years, “Batman Evolution,” plus original compositions from the band.

Technically, the Piano Guys are the music duo of pianist Jon Schmidt and cellist Steven Sharp Nelson, but the Piano Guys are also a 21st century multimedia collective that includes Paul Anderson, studio engineer and writer Al van der Beek, and videographer Tel Stewart, and together they produce musical and video gems that mash up classical themes with pop songs. This set is part compilation, collecting recent singles and movie soundtrack pieces, part new covers of hit songs done in the group’s unique style, and part new compositions from the group. One of the clear highlights is the homage to the various Batman themes over the years, “Batman Evolution.” -AllMusic Review by Steve Leggett
1 Story of My Life 04:35
2 Let It Go 04:05
3 Ants Marching / Ode to Joy 02:52
4 Fathers’ Eyes 04:00
5 Kung Fu Piano: Cello Ascends 04:05
6 Summer Jam 03:55
7 Batman Evolution 04:13
8 Don’t You Worry Child (feat. Shweta Subram) 04:06
9 Home 04:41
10 The Mission – How Great Thou Art 03:11
11 Because of You 04:05
12 Pictures at an Exhibition 04:02

Steven Sharp Nelson – cello, percussion, additional piano and vocals
Jon Schmidt – piano, additional percussion and vocals
Al van der Beek – percussion, vocals, additional piano

Shweta Subram – lead vocals on “Don’t You Worry Child”
Jake Bowen – percussion on “Summer Jam”
Gigi Romney – additional percussion on “Kung Fu Piano: Cello Ascends”