The Piano Guys – The Piano Guys (2012) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Piano Guys – The Piano Guys (2012)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 01:03:50 minutes | 641 MB | Genre: Classical, Avant-Garde
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | ©  Portrait Records/Sony Music

For many years Jon Schmidt (pianist) and Steven Sharp Nelson (cellist) had their separate music careers – each with their own countless stage performances and multiple Billboard-charting albums. Over the past few years it’s been difficult to find them apart, due the demand of audiences worldwide to see them together. Their musical chemistry, stage-spontaneity, and collaborative arrangements are incomparable. For the first time ever they have created a full-length, joint album—comprised of all their big hits on YouTube released in the first six months of joining “The Piano Guys.” Jon and Steve have created a new genre of music – piano and cello music, but like you’ve never heard them before—from the innovative classical / hip-hop Michael Meets Mozart to the beautifully-emotive Bring Him Home; cool covers that reinvent artists such as Adele and David Guetta; and fresh classical remakes that pay an edgy tribute to the greatest composers, such as Bach and Beethoven. Call it what you will, this music is most often described not by placing it in a “category” of music, but rather simply with one adjective. Inspiring.

Gifted cellist Steven Sharp Nelson has thrilled audiences with his passionate playing and appeared on more than a dozen award winning cds. In his solo debut, Steven Sharp Nelson presents a powerful collection of memorable pieces tenderly arranged for cello. Also, featuring timeless performances with Jon Schmidt, Peter Breinholt, David Tolk, Marshall McDonald, and Paul Cardall. Songs include: Unaccompanied Cello Suite No 1 in G Major: Prelude, Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini, All Creatures of Our God and King, and many others.

The Piano Guys have produced musical and video gems that mash up classical themes with pop songs, making their YouTube channel one of the most visited on the planet and bringing the group a recording deal with Sony Masterworks. This self-titled set, their major-label debut, features their amazing ten-handed take on One Direction’s “What Makes You Beautiful,” the recording and video that first vaulted the Piano Guys to international fame. -AllMusic Review by Steve Leggett

1. Titanium / Pavane 04:49
2. Peponi (Paradise) 04:11
3. Code Name Vivaldi 04:05
4. Beethoven’s 5 Secrets 05:09
5. Over the Rainbow / Simple Gifts 03:43
6. Cello Wars 03:31
7. Arwen’s Vigil 03:55
8. Moonlight 03:26
9. A Thousand Years 04:36
10. Michael Meets Mozart 05:18
11. The Cello Song 03:15
12. Rolling in the Deep 03:51
13. What Makes You Beautiful 02:53
14. Bring Him Home 04:14
15. Without You 03:36
16. Nearer My God to Thee 03:00

Steven Sharp Nelson – Cello, Composer, Effects, Electric Cello, Percussion, Piano, Producer, Steel Cello, Vocals
Jon Schmidt – Composer, Piano, Vocal Percussion, Vocals
Al van der Beek – Composer, Percussion, Piano, Vocals
Alex Boyé – Composer, Vocals