The Oscar Peterson Trio – Great Connection (1974/2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

The Oscar Peterson Trio – Great Connection (1974/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 00:42:14 minutes | 805 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | © MPS – Musik Produktion Schwarzwald
Recorded by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer at MPS-Studio, Villingen, October 1971

This 1971 release from Oscar Peterson marks the first collaboration between the pianist and legendary Danish bassist Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen, with whom Peterson would record eight more albums over the next 10 years. Also playing on this session is drummer Louis Hayes, returning to the Peterson fold after a few years working on his own. Peterson’s acclaimed original composition Wheatland takes its place alongside show tunes and standards.

This matchup between pianist Oscar Peterson, bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, and drummer Louis Hayes directly precedes Peterson’s recordings for Pablo. The pianist is in typically brilliant form on the LP, performing six standards (including “Soft Winds” and “On the Trail”) along with his own “Wheatland.” From the results here, it couldn’t have been too surprising that Peterson would want to record frequently with Pedersen in future years. ~~AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow

1. Younger Than Springtime 05:22
2. Where Do We Go from Here 05:51
3. Smile 03:57
4. Soft Winds 06:42
5. Just Squeeze Me 07:27
6. On the Trail 05:49
7. Wheatland 07:10

Oscar Peterson, piano
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, double bass
Louis Hayes, drums