The Moody Blues – Days Of Future Passed (1967) {50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 2017} [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Moody Blues – Days Of Future Passed (1967) {50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 2017}
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 02:19:41 minutes | 2,32 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Universal Music

The 50th Anniversary of The Moody Blues’ “Days of Future Passed”, one of the first albums to fuse rock music with an orchestra, DOFP is now regarded as one of the albums that gave birth to Progressive Rock. This newly remastered Deluxe edition features 26 bonus tracks!

This album marked the formal debut of the psychedelic-era Moody Blues; though they’d made a pair of singles featuring new (as of 1966) members Justin Hayward and John Lodge, Days of Future Passed was a lot bolder and more ambitious. What surprises first-time listeners – and delighted them at the time – is the degree to which the group shares the spotlight with the London Festival Orchestra without compromising their sound or getting lost in the lush mix of sounds. That’s mostly because they came to this album with the strongest, most cohesive body of songs in their history, having spent the previous year working up a new stage act and a new body of material (and working the bugs out of it on-stage), the best of which ended up here. Decca Records had wanted a rock version of Dvorak’s “New World Symphony” to showcase its enhanced stereo-sound technology, but at the behest of the band, producer Tony Clarke (with engineer Derek Varnals aiding and abetting) hijacked the project and instead cut the group’s new repertory, with conductor/arranger Peter Knight adding the orchestral accompaniment and devising the bridge sections between the songs’ and the album’s grandiose opening and closing sections. The record company didn’t know what to do with the resulting album, which was neither classical nor pop, but following its release in December of 1967, audiences found their way to it as one of the first pieces of heavily orchestrated, album-length psychedelic rock to come out of England in the wake of the Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s and Magical Mystery Tour albums. What’s more, it was refreshingly original, rather than an attempt to mimic the Beatles; sandwiched among the playful lyricism of “Another Morning” and the mysticism of “The Sunset,” songs like “Tuesday Afternoon” and “Twilight Time” (which remained in their concert repertory for three years) were pounding rockers within the British psychedelic milieu, and the harmony singing (another new attribute for the group) made the band’s sound unique. With “Tuesday Afternoon” and “Nights in White Satin” to drive sales, Days of Future Passed became one of the defining documents of the blossoming psychedelic era, and one of the most enduringly popular albums of its era.


01 – The Day Begins (Remastered 2017)
02 – Dawn: Dawn Is A Feeling (Remastered 2017)
03 – The Morning: Another Morning (Remastered 2017)
04 – Lunch Break: Peak Hour (Remastered 2017)
05 – The Afternoon (Remastered 2017)
06 – Evening (Remastered 2017)
07 – The Night (Remastered 2017)
08 – Long Summer Days
09 – Please Think About It
10 – Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (BBC Saturday Club Session)
11 – Love And Beauty (BBC Easybeat Session)
12 – Leave This Man Alone (BBC Easybeat Session)
13 – Peak Hour (BBC Easybeat Session)
14 – Nights In White Satin (BBC Dave Symonds Session)
15 – Fly Me High (BBC Dave Symonds Session)
16 – Twilight Time (BBC Dave Symonds Session)

01 – The Day Begins (Remastered 2006)
02 – Dawn: Dawn Is A Feeling (Remastered 2006)
03 – The Morning: Another Morning (Remastered 2006)
04 – Lunch Break: Peak Hour (Remastered 2006)
05 – The Afternoon (Remastered 2006)
06 – Evening (Remastered 2006)
07 – The Night (Remastered 2006)
08 – Tuesday Afternoon (Alternate Mix)
09 – Dawn: Dawn Is A Feeling (Alternate Version)
10 – The Sun Set (Alternate Version)
11 – Twilight Time (Alternate Vocal Mix)
12 – Fly Me High (Mono Mix)
13 – I Really Haven’t Got The Time (Mono Mix)
14 – Love And Beauty (Mono Mix)
15 – Leave This Man Alone (Mono Mix)
16 – Nights In White Satin (Single Version) [Mono Mix]17 – Cities (Mono Mix)