The King Blues – The Gospel Truth (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

The King Blues – The Gospel Truth (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 38:51 minutes | 472 MB | Genre: Ska, Punk Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Cooking Vinyl

Influenced by the Specials, Public Enemy, and the Clash, London collective the King Blues combine folk-punk, Two-Tone, and dub reggae with overtly political lyrical themes on a sound self-described as “conscious rude boy ska.” The band originally formed as a duo in 2004 before vocalist/ukulele player Jonny “Itch” Fox, and guitarist Jamie Jazz decided to expand their sound, recording with a number of various musicians before settling on the permanent lineup of guitarist Dean Ashton, bassist Kat Marsh, keyboardist Josie Dobson, and drummer Jack “Percusher” Usher. In 2005, they released their debut EP, All Fall Down, which was later followed by their 2006 full-length album, Under the Fog. After signing with Island subsidiary Field Recordings, it was reissued a year later, and following support from influential Radio 1 DJs Zane Lowe and Mike Davies, they scored a couple of minor hits from their follow-up, Save the World, Get the Girl (“Headbutt” and the title track) in 2008. A Live Lounge cover of Dizzee Rascal’s “Bonkers,” which they regularly played in their live set, became their most famous recording, and in 2011, they released their third LP, Punk and Poetry, through indie label Transmission. At the beginning of 2012, the band headed to California to record with producer John Feldmann (The Used, Good Charlotte) for what would become their third album. Releasing a statement in April 2012, the band announced they had decided to go their separate ways, with the album Long Live the Struggle becoming the final chapter of their recorded output.

The Gospel Truth is the fifth studio album from the King Blues and follows their 2012 release Long Live the Struggle. Recorded in London in 2016 and produced by Mike Moore, the album sees the band deliver another collection of ska-infused folk-punk. The single “Heart of a Lion” is included. ~ Rich Wilson

01. The Truth, The Whole Truth
02. Heart of a Lion
03. Not Another Love Song
04. The Bullingdon Boys
05. New Gods
06. The Truth Comes Out
07. Wish You Weren’t Here
08. America Don’t Want Me Anymore
09. Ghost of Us
10. Getting Better
11. Nike Town
12. You’ve Taken My Spark
13. And Nothing but the Truth