The Killers – Wonderful Wonderful {Deluxe Edition} (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Killers – Wonderful Wonderful {Deluxe Edition} (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 54:40 minutes | 646 MB | Genre: Alternative, Indie
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Island Records (The Island Def Jam Music Group / Universal Music)

“Wonderful Wonderful” is the fifth studio album by American rock band The Killers. It is their first studio album in five years, and their fifth consecutive studio album to top the UK Albums Chart. “Wonderful Wonderful” was well-received by contemporary music critics upon its release. BBC News called it “The Killers’ most vital album since Sam’s Town in 2006”.

In 2017, it’s hard to figure out where Brandon Flowers ends and the Killers begin. Just prior to the September release of Wonderful Wonderful – their fifth album and first in five years – the band announced that neither bassist Mark Stoermer nor guitarist Dave Keuning would be touring in support of the record, all the while stressing that neither musician had left the group. Listening to Wonderful Wonderful, it’s hard to discern their contribution because Flowers completely dominates the proceedings, to the point where this feels like a sequel not to 2012’s Battle Born but to his 2015’s solo album, The Desired Effect. To an extent, Flowers always has been the focus of the Killers, but at the dawn of their career they were unified in their fusion of new wave and arena rock. Ghosts of that sound flutter through Wonderful Wonderful, but they get pushed aside by disco struts, brooding celebrity name-drops, Mark Knopfler cameos, and Fleetwood Mac harmonies so uncannily real you’d swear Lindsey Buckingham guested on the record. Such odd juxtapositions and untrammeled ambition have been the Killers’ stock in trade since at least Sam’s Town, but the impressive thing about Wonderful Wonderful is how the Killers are able to execute Flowers’ overstuffed ideas so precisely. Being able to evoke certain sounds and eras is a skill that means Wonderful Wonderful can sound diffuse, as if it’s racing in opposite directions simultaneously, but that grandly inflated pomp is ingratiating not in the least because the years have proven there’s not a hint of irony in Flowers’ stadium-sized emotions. By this point, Flowers’ obsessions and signatures are so idiosyncratic, he’s clearly the auteur behind Wonderful Wonderful just as he was with The Desired Effect, and the record charms because its ridiculousness is sincere and his sincerity is ridiculous – two qualities that make him and his art messy and quite genuine.


01 – Wonderful Wonderful
02 – The Man
03 – Rut
04 – Life To Come
05 – Run For Cover
06 – Tyson vs Douglas
07 – Some Kind Of Love
08 – Out Of My Mind
09 – The Calling
10 – Have All The Songs Been Written
11 – Money On Straight [Bonus Track]
12 – The Man (Jacques Lu Cont Remix) [Bonus Track]
13 – The Man (Duke Dumont Remix) [Bonus Track]

Produced by Erol Alkan, The Killers, Jacknife Lee, Stuart Price.

Brandon Flowers – lead vocals, keyboards
Dave Keuning – guitar
Mark Stoermer – bass, guitar on “2,12,13”
Ronnie Vannucci – drums, percussion