The Flatlanders – Treasure of Love (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Flatlanders – Treasure of Love (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/44,1kHz | Time – 50:43 minutes | 598 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rack ‘Em Records

“We’ve all been fans of each other from the start,” says Jimmie Dale Gilmore, “but the thing that’s always struck me about The Flatlanders is that, first and foremost, it’s a band rooted in friendship. Beyond the music, we just connect with each other in these deep and personal ways, and that’s been a lifelong treasure.”

Take a listen to Treasure of Love, The Flatlanders’ first new album in more than a decade, and it’s clear that those bonds are deeper and stronger now than ever before. Completed during COVID-19 lockdowns with the help of longtime friend and collaborator Lloyd Maines, the record finds the iconic Texas trio of Joe Ely, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, and Butch Hancock in classic form, serving up a rollicking collection of twang-fueled, harmony-laden performances full of wry humor and raw heartbreak. While a few of the songs here are never-before-heard originals, the vast majority of the tracklist consists of vintage tunes the band picked up during their 50-year career, some stretching as far back as the group’s earliest performances in the honkytonks around Lubbock, TX, where you might have spotted Willie Nelson or Townes Van Zandt in the audience on any given night. These days, you may be more likely to find avowed fans like the Coen Brothers or David Byrne in the crowd, but the spirit of The Flatlanders remains the same: everything’s better with friends.

“Whenever the three of us get together, it all feels so fresh and exciting and unpredictable,” says Hancock. “Every time we collaborate, there’s this feeling of newness and possibility, even though it’s all a part of this same story we’ve been telling since the very beginning.”

1. Moanin’ of the Midnight Train (04:18)
2. Long Time Gone (02:53)
3. Snowin’ on Raton (03:43)
4. She Smiles Like a River (02:44)
5. Love, Please Come Home (02:56)
6. Give My Love to Rose (02:57)
7. Treasure of Love (02:08)
8. Satin Shoes (03:57)
9. The Ballad of Honest Sam (04:02)
10. Mama Does the Kangaroo (03:11)
11. She Belongs to Me (03:47)
12. I Don’t Blame You (03:33)
13. Mobile Blue (02:46)
14. Ramblin’ Man (03:24)
15. Sittin’ on Top of the World (04:24)