The Elliott Henshaw Band – Who’d Have Guest? (2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

The Elliott Henshaw Band – Who’d Have Guest? (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24bit/48kHz | Time – 01:05:52 minutes | 828 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ubuntu Music

“Who’d Have Guest?” is the clever, intriguingly titled new album from respected UK drummer ELLIOTT HENSHAW. Henshaw has worked with all kinds of people across all kinds of genres – most interesting to us David Benoit, the Drifters, Gwen Dickie, Georgie Fame and Beverly Knight. His standing in the UK music community is such that he can call on plenty of “names” to help him craft his own albums and that explains the title of this one, his latest.

Elliott has been an in-demand drummer for many years now, working with artists and bands that include Shirley Bassey, John Lord and Roger Glover (Deep Purple), Paul Anka, Michael Ball, Tony Christie, Leo Sayer, David Benoit, Russell Watson, Tony Hadley, The BBC Big Band, The Drifters, Gwen Dickie, Georgie Fame, Bob Mintzer, Mike Stern, Eric Marienthal, Beverley Knight and Phil Collins. He has played in over 20 West End shows that include Lion King, Come from Away, Dear Evan Hansen and Bat Out Of Hell. Alongside his own band, Elliott co-runs the 18-piece band Spice Fusion with Simon Niblock, who together have released two albums to date-Trying Too Hard and Trying Hard 2.

“Being heavily influenced by the likes of Dave Grusin, The Yellowjackets, Al Jarreau and David Sanborn”, explains Elliott, “I wanted to release music that celebrates the importance of strong melody combined with solid groove. Every member of the band is encouraged to stretch out and be creative within these parameters. ‘Who’d Have Guest’ features original compositions that showcase horn sections, string sections and, as the album title suggests, some very special guests. It has been 10 years in the making due to everyone’s work schedules but for me it has been worth the wait. Producing an album that allowed me to make music not only with my friends, but my heroes as well has been a joy from start to finish.”

The core members of The Elliott Henshaw Band are some of the busiest musicians on the UK scene-Bass player Andrew McKinney (James Taylor Quartet/Jarvis Cocker), keys player Matt Steele (Brand New Heavies/Jersey Street), guitarist James Pusey (Beverley Knight/Paloma Faith) and saxophonist Simon Willescroft (Duran Duran/Joss Stone).

Elliott continues, “The idea behind this project was to take my existing 5-piece band and include different guest appearances on each track. The guests vary from a horn section featuring the likes of Tom Walsh, Simon Niblock and Chris Traves, vocalists such as Miranda Wilford and Noel Sullivan, or jazz heavyweights such as Gwilym Simcock, Bob Mintzer and Dave Weckl. I wanted to celebrate music and musicians that have inspired me over the years whilst at the same time document where I am creatively at this point in my life.”

Concerning his new relationship with Ubuntu Music, Elliott shares his thoughts: “I was first introduced to Martin Hummel by my good friends Matt Steele and Quentin Collins. After our first conversation I knew straight away that I wanted to work with him and his label, Ubuntu Music. Martin has an abundance of passion and commitment to music combined with a great respect for the musicians. He has been so helpful with his guidance and advice, all of which comes from a wealth of experience in the industry. I am very much looking forward to what I hope will be a long relationship with Martin and Ubuntu.”

Martin Hummel, Director of Ubuntu Music, adds his perspective: “I’d been aware of Elliott for some time and, through mutual acquaintances, we had the opportunity to meet. Elliott kindly shared his project with me and the rest is history. I was floored by the richness and the depth of the music, all of which is firmly anchored in seductive melodies. Having Gwilym Simcock, Bob Mintzer and Dave Weckl appear on the album, along with other such standouts, is the icing on a very delicious cake. It’s great to welcome Elliott to the Ubuntu Music Family.”

1. Tea & Toast (feat. Bob Mintzer) (07:51)
2. Direct Input (07:49)
3. Along Came Milly (feat. Gwilym Simcock) (05:49)
4. Monte Carlo (feat. Miranda Wilford) (04:07)
5. JP (04:46)
6. Hiding To Nothing (09:33)
7. Faithless (feat. Noel Sullivan) (04:19)
8. You Are (03:31)
9. Trying Too Hard (08:11)
10. Red Beret (04:48)
11. Scotty The Brave (feat. Dave Weckl) (05:08)