The Comet is Coming – Trust In The Lifeforce Of The Deep Mystery (2019) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

The Comet is Coming – Trust In The Lifeforce Of The Deep Mystery (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 45:44 minutes | 533 MB | Genre:  Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Impulse!

Saxophonist and clarinetist Shabaka Hutchings is a real connoisseur of sounds and fusions, and a true explorer. Each of his new musical expeditions pushes him further towards the top of today’s jazz scene… Born in London in 1984, he grew up under the Barbadian sun before moving back to England in 1999 where he joined the prestigious Guildhall School of Music and Drama. Here, he caught the attention of saxophonist Soweto Kinch and started hanging out with big names like Courtney Pine and Jerry Dammers from the Specials. In 2011, Shabaka launched Sons of Kemet, a surprising quartet featuring a tuba and two drums. A complete oddity, halfway between a marching band and a chamber orchestra, that blends jazz, Caribbean and African music, Egyptian influences, and flavours from New Orleans and Ethiopia. The aptly titled The Comet Is Coming – no relations to Sons Of Kemet – is another adaptation of jazz language. But does it still qualify as jazz? It doesn’t really matter. As a sort of electro-drip-fed Sun Ra of the third millennium, Shabaka Hutchings – who calls himself King Shabaka here – is supported by a duo composed of Danalogue on the keyboards and Betamax on drums and percussions. It’s a rather avant-garde programme set to overpowered percussive rhythmic and hypnotising brass improvisations. Sun Ra, as we said… It’s hard not to mention him who was idolised (or hated) for his lengthy compositions and mind-blowing, almost psychedelic performances as well as for the odd cosmic philosophy he preached. The Comet is Coming’s second album, Trust In The Lifeforce Of The Deep Mystery, remains profoundly attached to its time, in which Shabaka injects his philosophy with contemporary elements far removed from master Ra’s semantic like when he hands over the microphone to rapper/spoken-word performer Kate Tempest on Blood Of The Past.  – Marc Zisman

1. Because the End Is Really the Beginning
2. Birth of Creation
3. Summon the Fire
4. Blood of the Past (Feat. Kate Tempest)
5. Super Zodiac
6. Astral Flying
7. Timewave Zero
8. Unity
9. The Universe Wakes Up

King Shabaka, saxophones
Danalogue, keyboards, synthesizer, electronics
Betamax, drums
Kate Tempest, spoken word (on track 4)