The Beach Boys – Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) (1965/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

The Beach Boys – Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) (1965/2015) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time -27:14 minutes | 1,15 GB | Genre: Pop Rock, Surf Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks |  @ Capitol Records

Summer Days (And Summer Nights) is The Beach Boys’ ninth studio album and was originally released in 1965 by Capitol Records. It was the group’s second album released in the year 1965, their previous release was Wall of Sound. This album marked the first appearance by Bruce Johnston though he was not technically considered a group member at the time of the recording. Almost all of the tracks on the album were written by Brian Wilson and Mike Love, including hits “California Girls” and “Let Him Run Wild”.

Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) was a bit of a regression from the success of Today!, lapsing back into that distressing division between first-rate cuts and lightweight also-rans that characterized their pre-1965 albums. The difference is that the very best tracks were operating on a more sophisticated level than the 1962-1964 classics. “Help Me, Rhonda” was a number one single and would be their last Top 40 exercise in sheer fun for a while. More impressive was “California Girls”, with its symphonic arrangement, glorious harmonies, and archetypal statement of Californian lifestyle. On the other hand, subpar efforts like “Amusement Park U.S.A.” and “Salt Lake City”, throwbacks to the empty-headed summer filler of previous days, will necessitate that the CD remote button remains close at hand. The covers of “The Girl From New York City” and “Then I Kissed Her” are well done but don’t break new ground. Yet a couple of cuts are among their most essential LP-only efforts. “Let Him Run Wild” is a soulful ballad with a great Brian Wilson falsetto vocal. “Girl Don’t Tell Me”, with its gorgeous melody, fine lead vocal debut from Carl Wilson, and subtle depiction of romantic rejection and disappointment, may be the best obscure pre-Pet Sounds Beach Boys track.

01 – The Girl From New York City
02 – Amusement Parks U.S.A.
03 – Then I Kissed Her
04 – Salt Lake City
05 – Girl Don’t Tell Me
06 – Help Me, Rhonda
07 – California Girls
08 – Let Him Run Wild
09 – You’re So Good To Me
10 – Summer Means New Love
11 – I’m Bugged At My Ol’ Man
12 – And Your Dream Comes True

Al Jardine – vocals, electric rhythm guitar, hand claps
Bruce Johnston – vocals, acoustic grand piano, hammond organ, celeste, hand claps
Mike Love – vocals, hand claps
Brian Wilson – vocals, bass guitar, acoustic upright piano, hammond organ, hand claps, timpani
Carl Wilson – vocals, acoustic guitar, rhythm guitar, twelve-string guitar, hand claps
Dennis Wilson – backing vocals, drums, tambourine, hand claps