The Beach Boys – Beach Boys’ Party! (1965/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

The Beach Boys – Beach Boys’ Party! (1965/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192kHz | Time – 31:07 minutes | 1,34 GB | Genre: Pop Rock, Surf Rock
Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks |  @ Capitol Records

Newly remastered for vinyl and in hi-res by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, Beach Boys Party! is presented here in stereo.

The album is the tenth by the band, and featured the hit single “Barbara Ann”. The album peaked at #6 on the US Billboard 200 chart, and although it was recorded in a studio, was meant to sound like it was an impromptu live recording of a party.

Capitol, which had already released ten Beach Boys albums in three years, was bugging the group for product that it could release in time for the 1965 Christmas season. To buy time while Brian Wilson began conceiving the Pet Sounds masterpiece, the group issued a set of covers, mostly of the ’50s rock and R&B they had listened to as schoolboys. Packaged as if it had been recorded at an actual party, it was in fact recorded in the studio, with friends and romantic partners adding sounds and vocals to create an informal atmosphere. With the exception of a bass guitar, all the instruments were acoustic; the acoustic guitar-and-bongo arrangements, in fact, give this a hootenanny campfire feel. In recent years, this album has gone up a few notches in critical esteem, praised for its loose, casual feel and insight into the group’s influences. Realistically, though, its present-day appeal lies mostly with dedicated fans of the group, as fun and engaging as it is. Others will find the material shopworn in places, and the presentation too corny. It does have the massive hit “Barbara Ann,” which actually features Dean Torrence (of Jan & Dean) on much of the lead vocals; other highlights include “Mountain of Love,” an unexpected version of “The Times They Are a-Changin’,” and three Beatles covers.

01 – Hully Gully
02 – I Should Have Known Better
03 – Tell Me Why
04 – Papa-Oom-Mow-Mow
05 – Mountain Of Love
06 – You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away
07 – Devoted To You
08 – Alley Oop
09 – There’s No Other Like My Baby
10 – Medley: I Get Around/Little Deuce Coupe
11 – The Times They Are A-Changin’
12 – Barbara Ann