The BBC Concert Orchestra – The Way of Light (2021) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

The BBC Concert Orchestra – The Way of Light (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:19:20 minutes | 834 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Orchid Classics

Stage and screen would be the poorer without the award-winning soundtrack scores of Nigel Hess. The acclaimed British composer’s melodious music for stage, film and television has touched millions around the world over the past forty years. His latest album turns the spotlight on works written for the concert hall or conceived without onscreen images in mind. “The Way of Light – The Music of Nigel Hess” boasts a stellar cast of performers, among them pianists Piers Lane and Nicholas McCarthy, the BBC Concert Orchestra, the BBC Singers and Sir Derek Jacobi, with rousing contributions from the Central Band of the Royal Air Force and the Band of Her Majesty’s Royal Marines Portsmouth.

It comprises everything from a bold ballet suite to the sublime Arise My Love, a haunting setting of words from the Song of Solomon, and the equally seductive Live With Me and Be My Love.


01. A Celebration Overture
02. Kyrie (Version for Choir)
03. March Barnes Wallis
04. Jesu Joy Variations
05. The Old Man of Lochnagar Suite: I. Scottish Dances
06. The Old Man of Lochnagar Suite: II. Dark Lochnagar
07. The Old Man of Lochnagar Suite: III. Dance of the Eagle
08. Nocturne
09. Live with Me and Be My Love
10. Chansons de Normandie
11. The Lakes of Cold Fen
12. Benedictus
13. Arise, My Love (Arr. for Choir, Cello & Orchestra)
14. The Way of Light