The Anchoress – The Art of Losing (2021) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

The Anchoress – The Art of Losing (2021)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 52:51 minutes | 539 MB | Genre: Indie Rock, Progressive Rock, Female Vocal
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Kscope

The Art of Losing is the second album from Welsh multi-instrumentalist The Anchoress (aka Catherine Anne Davies), following up on her critically acclaimed debut album, Confessions of A Romance Novelist, which was named amongst the Guardian critics’ Albums of the Year, won HMV’s Welsh Album of the Year, Best Newcomer at the PROG awards, and a nomination for the Welsh Music Prize.

Written and produced by Davies, the new album features guest vocal performances from James Dean Bradfield (Manic Street Preachers) and drums from Sterling Campbell (David Bowie, Duran Duran) along with the mixing talents of Dave Eringa (Manics, Wilko Johnson) and grammy-award winner Mario McNulty (David Bowie, Prince, Laurie Anderson).

The Art Of Losing ambitiously navigates the topic of loss in all its forms and was written and recorded during an unfeasibly busy few years as Davies found solace and purpose in a range of projects whilst navigating her griefs. Most recently this came via the release of her collaborative album In Memory of My Feelings with Bernard Butler (on Pete Paphides’ label Needle Mythology), duetting with the Manic Street Preachers on Resistance Is Futile, and being personally invited by The Cure’s Robert Smith to perform at his Meltdown Festival. She also brought a new generation of ears to legendary Scottish rock band Simple Minds, where she spent much of the last five years appearing on the Big Music (2015) and Walk Between Worlds (2018).

1. Moon Rise (Prelude) (02:50)
2. Let It Hurt (03:36)
3. Show Your Face (04:27)
4. The Art of Losing (04:06)
5. All Farewells Should Be Sudden (05:01)
6. All Shall Be Well (01:39)
7. Unravel (04:04)
8. Paris (02:00)
9. 5AM (04:02)
11. The Heart is a Lonesome Hunter (04:05)
11. My Confessor (03:56)
12. With the Boys (05:56)
13. Moon (An End) (02:51)