The Allman Brothers Band – Idlewild South (1970) {Deluxe Edition Remastered 2015} [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

The Allman Brothers Band – Idlewild South (1970) [Deluxe Edition Remastered 2015]
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 02:31:43 minutes | 3,25 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  – Source: HDTracks | @ Island Def Jam

The Allman Brothers’ second album, Idlewild South has been remastered from its original tapes. This mixture of chunky grooves and sophisticated textures showcases both Gregg Allman’s and Dickey Betts’ skills as songwriters. This classic album includes the hit “Midnight Rider.” The Deluxe edition adds 12 tracks not included on the original release. Bonus tracks are a combination of live tracks, studio cuts and outtakes.

If you’re going to listen to the Allman Brothers, make sure you have the first four records. The band made The Allman Brothers Band, Idlewild South, At Fillmore East, and three-fourths of Eat a Peach with its original lineup, before Duane Allman’s fatal motorcycle accident in 1971. The Tom Dowd-produced Idlewild South, their second album, comes off with a little less ferocity than their debut – which is perhaps the result of reaching for new sounds the second time around. “Revival,” the album’s opener, introduces Dickey Betts as a composer. The countrified flavor of his songs gives an indication of where the band will head in the post-Duane era. Betts’ other contribution to Idlewild South is the instrumental “In Memory of Elizabeth Reed,” a centerpiece of the Fillmore East recordings. Gregg’s “Please Call Home” and “Midnight Rider” are built around piano and acoustic guitar, respectively, and have a different feel than the band’s usual twin Les Paul-and-Hammond sound. That sound is showcased in the balance of Gregg’s tunes, however: the funky blues of “Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’” (with Thom Doucette on harmonica) and “Leave My Blues at Home.” The album is also notable for the rollicking version of Willie Dixon’s “Hoochie Coochie Man,” with the only vocal bassist Berry Oakley (who died in a motorcycle accident one year after Duane) ever recorded with the group. Though overall it packs less punch than The Allman Brothers Band, Idlewild South is all the more impressive for its mixture of chunky grooves and sophisticated textures.

01 – Revival
02 – Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’
03 – Midnight Rider
04 – In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
05 – Hoochie Coochie Man
06 – Please Call Home
07 – Leave My Blues At Home
08 – Statesboro Blues (Session Outtake Remix)
09 – One More Ride (Session Outtake)
10 – Midnight Rider (Alternate Mix)
11 – Dreams (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
12 – Statesboro Blues (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
13 – Touble No More (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
14 – Dimples (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
15 – Every Hungry Woman (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
16 – I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
17 – Hoochie Coochie Man (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
18 – In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)
19 – Mountain Jam (Live At Ludlow Garage, 1970)