Supertramp – Crime Of The Century (1974/2014) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Supertramp – Crime Of The Century (1974/2014)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 44:15 minutes | 1,75 GB | Genre: Pop Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Q0buz | Front Cover | © A&M

The album that broke Supertramp through to the mainstream in 1974 and impressed critics around the world. “Crime Of The Century” includes three of the band’s classic signature songs, Dreamer, School and Bloody Well Right, although every single track here has endured and is considered essential Supertramp. This is one of the rare albums certified diamond for sales of a million copies in Canada, one of the band’s strongest territories, where Crime Of The Century stayed on the charts for two years.

Supertramp came into their own on their third album, 1974’s Crime of the Century, as their lineup gelled but, more importantly, so did their sound. The group still betrayed a heavy Pink Floyd influence, particularly in its expansive art rock arrangements graced by saxophones, but Supertramp isn’t nearly as spooky as Floyd – they’re snarky collegiate elitists, an art rock variation on Steely Dan or perhaps a less difficult 10cc, filled with cutting jokes and allusions, best heard on “Bloody Well Right.” This streak would later flourish on Breakfast in America, but it’s present enough to give them their own character. Also present is a slight sentimental streak and a heavy fondness for pop, heard on “Dreamer,” a soaring piece of art pop that became their first big hit. That and “Bloody Well Right” are the concise pop moments on the record; the rest of Crime of the Century is atmospheric like Dark Side of the Moon, but with a lighter feel and a Beatles bent. At times the album floats off into its own world, with an effect more tedious than hypnotic, but it’s still a huge leap forward for the group and their most consistent album outside of that 1979 masterwork, Breakfast in America.

01 – School
02 – Bloody Well Right
03 – Hide In Your Shell
04 – Asylum
05 – Dreamer
06 – Rudy
07 – If Everyone Was Listening
08 – Crime Of The Century

Produced by Ken Scott & Supertramp. Engineered by Ken Scott & John Jansen.
Recorded at Ramport Studios (South London), Scorpio Sound Studios (London), and Trident Studios (London) from February to June 1974.
Digitally Remastered.

Roger Hodgson – vocals, guitar, piano
John Anthony Helliwell – vocals, saxophone, clarinet
Richard Davies – vocals, harmonica, keyboards
Dougie Thomson – bass
Bob C. Benberg – drums, percussion