Sueye Park & Love Derwinger – Salut d’amour (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Sueye Park & Love Derwinger – Salut d’amour (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 58:35 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © BIS

Sueye Park introduced herself to the general public in 2017 with no less a calling-card than Paganini’s 24 Caprices for solo violin. On the present disc, the South-Korean violinist (born in 2000) has a pianist on her side, namely Love Derwinger, himself known from a number of recordings. The repertoire is also a more varied offering this time, with violin favourites such as Elgar’s tender Salut d’amour and Tchaikovsky’s Mélodie, as well as more virtuosic fare, for instance in the fireworks of Wieniawski’s Scherzo-Tarantelle. Sueye also includes two solo works on the disc: Ernst’s much-loved Last Rose and – in a nod to her previous disc – Paganiniana, Nathan Milstein’s fantasy on themes by Paganini. Performed with equal measures of poetic sensitivity and effortless virtuosity, this is a recital to dip into as well as to listen to from start to finish – from the fiery passion of Pablo de Sarasate’s Introduction et Tarantelle to Contemplation, Heifetz’ transcription of Brahms’s song Wie Melodien zieht es mir.

1. Introduction et tarantelle, Op. 43 (Arr. for Violin & Piano) 05:13
2. Salut d’amour, Op. 12 02:47
3. La gitana 03:24
4. Tambourin chinois, Op. 3 03:51
5. No. 4, Songs My Mother Taught Me (Arr. F. Kreisler for Violin & Piano) 02:48
6. Paganiniana 08:40
7. No. 3, Mélodie in E-Flat Major 03:16
8. Scherzo tarantelle, Op. 16 04:56
9. No. 14, Vocalise in C-Sharp Minor (Arr. S. Yokoyama for Violin & Piano) 05:44
10. Danse espagnole No. 1 (Arr. F. Kreisler for Violin & Piano) 03:29
11. Wellenspeil 01:51
12. The Last Rose of Summer “Polyphonic Study No. 6” 09:48
13. Contemplation (After Brahms’ Op. 105 No. 1) 02:48

Sueye Park, Violin
Love Derwinger, Piano